Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Labors of an Epic Punk

YA Fantasy Myth-Retelling

Mac is an epic punk. No wonder: after his dad went off to fight in the Trojan War and never came back, Mac spent his childhood evading his mom's scumbag suitors—all one-hundred-and-eight of them. Of course, he turned out this way—a moody, friendless sixteen-year-old who blows off work, alienates everyone at school, and pulls pranks. But when he trains a flock of birds to defecate on the headmaster, Mac (short for Telemachus) goes too far. The administrators give him an ultimatum: prove that he's truly the son of Odysseus by doing something heroic—or get out. A school story that just so happens to take place 3,000 years ago, Labors of an Epic Punk is a tale of friendship and transformation, regret and redemption, and a reminder to us all that even heroes need to survive adolescence.

EXCERPT
No one on the field that morning had any idea that all Hades was about to break loose.

Well, one person did.

The stands were over-crammed with students, all chirping away about their summer travels, each one trying to out-fabulous the other. But Mac wasn’t talking to any of them. (No surprise there.)  Instead, he just stared at the empty stage in fist-clenching anticipation. For the entire morning, the entire summer, the entire two years he’d wasted at this gods-forsaken school, he’d been waiting for this moment. His moment of glory, of genius. The
moment when he’d finally and irretrievably cross The Line— that hard-to-define boundary between tolerable and intolerable. Between a week of detention and expulsion. All he needed was for Headmaster Gurgus to blow on that shell.

Just when he thought he couldn’t wait any longer without throwing up, Mac heard the band play the opening notes to “Yielding Never,” Pieridian Academy’s absurdly overblown fight song. The Opening Ceremonies were officially underway. From his seat high up in the stands, Mac watched intently as the members of the so-called Grand Procession marched onto Garthymedes Field: the entire faculty and staff, wearing shiny red gowns and smiles full of phony reverence; followed by the honored students, also in ritualistic red, condescendingly waving at the crowd; followed by a grotesque, nine-headed Hydra.

Lastly, waddling ten paces behind the Hydra, in all his roly-poly, four-hundred pound glory, was Headmaster Gurgus.

This is the most interesting interview I've ever posted. READ About authors who sound like real people and share real experiences with us.  CLICK HERE
Don't forget to come back for the great Giveaway.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:  Mark and Sheri Dursin will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.


 For many years Mark, a high school English teacher, and Sheri, a freelance writer and
blogger, wrote independently. No matter the writing project—newspaper articles, retreat talks, college recommendation letters, fan-fiction, blog posts on spirituality or 80s pop songs—they tended to work alone. Separate rooms, separate computers. But raising their twin sons helped them discover an important truth: All Good Things Come in Twos.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out all of the other Tour Stops

May 2: Long and Short Reviews YA
May 9: BooksChatter
May 16: Fabulous and Brunette
May 23: Kit 'N Kabookle - review
May 23: Laurie's Thoughts and Reviews
May 30: Archaeolibrarian - I Dig Good Books!
June 6: The Reading Addict
June 6: The Avid Reader
June 13: Edgar's Books
June 20: Hope. Dreams. Life... Love
June 20: Andi's Young Adult Books
June 27: T's Stuff
July 11: Just Books
July 18: Author C.A.Milson
July 25: Nickie's Views and Interviews
August 1: Let me tell you a story
August 1: Books in the Hall
August 8: Jazzy Book Reviews - review only
August 8: Mixed Book Bag
August 15: Bookaholic
August 22: Locks, Hooks and Books - review only
August 22: Readeropolis










Monday, August 13, 2018

Path to Passion

Contemporary Romance
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Nana Prah will be awarding a $20 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.

Heir to his family’s global empire, branding genius Miguel Astacio turns everything into marketing gold. Only his best friend’s sister seems immune to his magic touch. Until Tanya Carrington comes to him to save her floundering nightclub. Miguel is ready to rectify past mistakes. But will his supreme sacrifice win the heart of the woman he loves?

Read an Excerpt:

She stared at the screen again with her eyes unblinking “Um…” She rubbed the back of her neck and a light sheen of sweat broke out on her forehead. “How much will this cost?”

Now for the heavy convincing. He got up and stood beside her to point at the CCTV screen showing the dance area, which had filled up a little more in the hour they’d been going over his ideas. “I can see this place packed, people waiting all the way up the street trying to get in. VIP area filled with actors, musicians and pro athletes flying in to experience it.”

Unable to resist, he leaned close so they were almost cheek to cheek. Her heat and honeysuckle perfume floated into him, and he turned his head so his starving lips could caress her one more time. He kissed along her jaw until he met the sensitive area of her neck, where he teased her with gentle nips until she moaned. She sprang as far away from him as the room would allow.

What had he been thinking? Why did she affect him this way? She took away his willpower like no other woman had ever done. Thinking became almost impossible when she was around. The desire to smooth his hands over her incredibly silky soft skin drove him to get closer, but he stayed rooted to the spot, watching her rub the goose pimples from her arms.


About the Author:
Nana Prah first discovered romance in a book from her eight grade summer reading list and has been obsessed with it ever since. Her fascination with love inspired her to write in her favorite genre where happily-ever-after is the rule.

She is a published author of contemporary, multicultural romances. Her books are sweet with a touch of spice. When she’s not writing she’s, over-indulging in chocolate, enjoying life with friends and family, and tormenting nursing students into being the best nurses the world has ever seen. Nana loves to connect with her readers on Twitter @Nana Prah and Facebook at Nana Prah, author.


Buy Links:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Path-Passion-Astacios-Nana-Prah-ebook/dp/B0778RGL2Q

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Path-Passion-Mills-Kimani-Astacios-ebook/dp/B079KLFH7H

Amazon CA: https://www.amazon.ca/Path-Passion-Astacios-Nana-Prah-ebook/dp/B0778RGL2Q

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/path-to-passion-nana-prah/1127454529?ean=9781335216809#/

Harlequin: https://www.harlequin.com/shop/books/9781488081910_path-to-passion.html

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/mt/book/path-to-passion-the-astacios-book-2/id1345049748?mt=11



Contact Details:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NanaPrah

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NanaPrah.Author

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nanaprahauthor/?hl=en

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Nana-Prah/e/B00E9ILIPA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1517833825&sr=8-1

Blog : http://www.nanaprah.blogspot.com

Newsletter: https://www.nanaprah.com/newsletter-sign-up



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Paradox

Paradox by Catherine Coulter
            published by Simon & Schuster

My Review

This was my first experience reading Catherine Coulter and how lucky I am that she has written so many books for me to read. The title most certainly matches the storyline. I can’t help but wonder how an author lays out such an intricate plot. There must be a blueprint drawn up first like an architect would draw or maybe a mathematician with a long equation. One thing about this deep and complex plot is
that it is not hard to follow. This is a book you must focus on when reading because it has plenty of twists and turns but then this isn’t a cozy. It’s a complex novel of the crime fiction genre.

When you read a book and immediately like the characters and the relationships between them, I think this is due to the skill of the author in defining and describing them to a point where you can get to know them. I immediately liked Savich and Sherlock. I felt the same about Ty and Sala. Well, this isn’t fair…I felt the same way about Gunney and her Godfather too. Heck, I guess I liked them all, except for the bad guys, of course. 

Another thing that was done well is the technique of combining two very serious, very complex crimes at the same time. This switching back and forth can often be confusing and very frustrating but somehow Coulter manages to keep her storyline weaving throughout all the time. Making you only anxious to read more about each crime and wanting to get back to it to know what is happening. Quite a feat or maybe just excellent writing.

***This book was provided to me by NetGalley and all opinions are definitely my own.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Hanged Man's Noose



Hanged Man's Noose by Judy Penz Sheluk

MY REVIEW

Another fun read from Judy Penz Sheluk. This is such an enjoyable cozy. It has all the basics…a neat town, a few neat stores and as usual and as in all small towns, a lot of nice folks and a few nosy ones. This town, called Lounts Landing, is named after a traitor. While there is no actual treason against one’s country in this book, there are definitely a few traitors. Another thing this neat little town has is an antique store called surprisingly enough, The Glass Dolphin. Antiques are something I like and even though this is not a story about antiques, I really like the mention of them and occasional descriptions. While I have called this a cozy and a fun, easy read, it is definitely not lightweight. There are plenty of twists and turns and dead bodies in this story:)
Judy Penz Sheluk

I read Book 2 first and liked it so much I was fortunate to get Book 1 to read. Both books can totally stand alone and have very different storylines even though they involve some of the same characters. Characters I really liked. I think Sheluk is very good at giving her characters a lot of personality. When an author is good at describing characters, not their physical characteristics but their personalities, it makes them very enjoyable and the story even more readable.
That’s what happens in both of the books in the series. I hate to be so pushy here Judy Penz Sheluk, but please hurry up and write Book 3.

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Never Give Up on Love



Fantasy Romance
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Maggie Mundy will be awarding a $5 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


MY REVIEW

Vampire stories are not really my thing, but the Soul Mate Tree stories always seem to be heart-warming in their own way and this one was no different. It’s a story of sorrow, longing, happiness, and a little make-believe. As paranormal as this might seem, a storyline of feeling that someone could be your perfect mate and yet finding they are exactly the person you should not be with is not unrealistic. Maybe the fact that someone can live 100 years or more to find that special person is a little far-fetched but remember this is the legend of the Soul Mate Tree.  I thought this was a little different take on the Soul Mate Tree stories which is possibly what made it so readable. 

Kudos to Maggie Mundy for an enjoyable read. 

***This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Read an Excerpt
Vincent stared at the phone in his hand as if it was a magical object that had just granted him his wish. Could this really be happening after so long? Could he have finally found his soul mate? Adele didn’t even know who he was.

Tristan walked into the breakfast room and poured himself some coffee.

“So are you going to call her or are you just going to stare at that thing until it explodes?”

“I just did, and I’m seeing her for a business meeting on Saturday.”

Tristan shook his head as he walked over. “I have known you for hundreds of years and find it hard to accept you still believe in this fairy tale about a woman you love. When I found you, that first night you were the worst for wear. Anything you would have imagined would have been delusions.”

Vincent didn’t want to listen to Tristan’s rationale right now. He wanted to believe in the impossible.

“You’re probably right. I’ll just fool myself that I’m contacting her because she is an excellent photographer, which she is by the way. I know it is unwise, but I have to meet her, even if it is to rid myself of the fairy tale and accept my lot in life.”

Tristan grinned at him. “You’re my dear friend, but you are also a vampire, and she is a witch who hunts us down. I would call it a little more than unwise.”


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

I live in Adelaide, Australia with my husband, two cats, two dogs and a snake. I have a motorbike that I would like to ride more than I do and I love walking at the beach and listening to the waves.  I've always loved reading all forms of speculative fiction from high fantasy and paranormal to horror and decided the stories in my head needed to be written down. It was either that or start on medication. Unlike many I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until a few years back.  I started off doing a degree in Drama but soon realized my love was in writing, though there is a play lurking somewhere on my computer. My day job is as a nurse in the operating room which helps with research for my gory scenes. I believe romance can be fun to read and write but it’s exciting to spice it up with the uncertainty that comes with the worlds of mythical creatures where the rules can be broken.


Author page




a Rafflecopter giveaway





Thursday, August 2, 2018

Cross Drop



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Elizabeth Hartey will be awarding a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Nikki

I’m not a saint. Never claimed to be. I’ve played the game and scored my fair share—both on and off the field. This is why I should have known better than to fall for a hockey player. But I did. I fell fast and hard.

Now I’m left with the painful consequences, reminded every day of how reckless I had been by giving him my heart so easily—so willingly. Dalt broke me in the cruelest of ways, and because of him I’ll never be able to love again.

Dalt
Nikki changed me. She made me want to be a better man. My days playing off the field were over because she owned every little piece of my heart…until she left, leaving behind a gnawing ache where my heart used to be.
Now she’s back, and it’s painfully clear she hates me, ignoring me, pretending like I’m nobody to her. But that’s just too damn bad. I want answers. I want a goddamn explanation.

And most of all…I want her.

Read an Excerpt:
When you’re in college things are measured by semesters, not days or months. I fell in love fall semester of my freshman year. I was dumped spring semester of my sophomore year. I received the greatest blessing of my life in the fall of what should have been my junior year. It’s how I remember things, how I recall the seasons which changed my life forever. Now I’m back, trying to complete my junior fall semester more than a year later.

I shouldn’t be here tonight, though. I swore I was off hockey for the rest of my life. Sort of. Not the Bruins, or the Penguins, or the Stars. Okay, I swore I was off any hockey involving the Bernard University team, and one particular hockey whore.

I’m not a stupid girl. Not usually. I’ve worked hard to get to where I am and to keep checking off all the necessary boxes to get where I want to go. Get a scholarship to an Ivy League college. Check. Manage to keep my GPA over 3.5 to maintain said scholarship. Check. Become captain of the women’s soccer team and lead them to a championship win of the America East Conference during my first year as captain. Check. I’m not ashamed to admit I was doing pretty well at this thing called life, despite a few colossal obstacles along the way. Until about three years ago, when I checked off a few boxes which should not have been checked.

The special brand of stupid I began demonstrating back then and am continuing to exhibit at this very moment is spelled D-a-l-t-o-n W-a-l-k-e-r. When it comes to that irresistible specimen of whoredom, I become a mindless idiot.


About the Author:

As a lover of the northeast US, Elizabeth moved with her husband to the Poconos several years ago to open a Chiropractic Clinic. Four children and a menagerie of animals later, she has finally found time to fulfill her lifelong dream of writing novels. The wild ride of writing books is one of the most difficult things she’s ever done in her life. But the opportunity to get her stories out of her head and down on paper and send them out into the world is also one of the most wonderful things she’s ever done. A dreamer at heart, romance is the genre she spends most of her time writing and reading into the wee hours of the morning. And having readers fall in love with her characters as much as she does is almost as exciting as giving birth (just not as painful!) When not juggling work responsibilities and writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, hiking the beautiful hills and woods around her home, swimming, knitting, watching old classic movies and travelling.



Website: https://www.elizabethhartey.com

FB: http://www.facebook.com/EHarteyauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/drliz5

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cZCEuL

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/ReelLoveGR

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/elizabeth-hartey

Author Central: https://www.amazon.com/author/elizabethhartey

Amazon Cross Stroke (book 1) https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078T4JR2M/

Barnes and Noble Cross Stroke (book 1) https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cross-stroke-elizabeth-hartey/1127822371


Amazon Cross Drop: https://www.amazon.com/Cross-Drop-Edge-Book-2-ebook/dp/B07DK2VWP5/

Barnes and Noble Cross Drop: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cross-drop-elizabeth-hartey/1128927030



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Freaking Fast

Futuristic YA Action Adventure
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. David Pereda will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.

MY REVIEW
I loved this short, sneaky, serious and yet full of whimsy book. I read it in 2 days. I just couldn’t put it down. Can a book about killing someone be whimsical? Well it can if David Pereda writes it. He seems to be able to write any kind of book. I love the way he always gives us an education all the while trying to fool us into thinking we are having a fun read.

This time it was math; last time in Havana Blue it was the social and economic history of Cuba and the hard times of a boy growing up in Havana. Yet all the while I was having a blast reading both books. I enjoyed the analogies he made between real life and mathematical equations in this book and how even though the story switches back and forth between the current and the future he still managed to keep a symmetry to his storyline.

He has provided another very different and very enjoyable story.  The characters in this latest book were unlike any others, yet as alive as his characters always seem to be. Intelligent young characters with very finite minds and yet still young and uncertain. Living through and growing up with the same questions and dreams we all had no matter which generation we grew up in.  I loved the futuristic setting. I could almost believe I had my own robot and my own flying car, sort of like the Jetsons but now, in today’s technology very little of it seems very far away or impossible. In fact, everything he wrote about seemed like a normal progression of how things will be in another 40 years. In other words, it all seemed very believable.

Is this a book for young people? I think so, but I don’t think there is any age that wouldn’t enjoy it.  I obviously did.

David Pereda has several books with great reviews. Check them all out.

P.S. Dear David, I tried to use at least a few simplistic mathematical terms just to tease you. Hope I used them in a proper way or should I say from the proper angle:)


***This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for my own very honest review.

Read an Excerpt
Year 2066
8:30am. Asheville, North Carolina

Today I’m going to kill the love of my life.

This deliberate act should not to be misinterpreted for what the sensationalistic media will surely call a crime of passion, because it isn’t. There’s nothing passionate in what I am about to do. My action is premeditated, has been planned for a long time, and will be executed for the benefit of our city, our country, and our crumbling world – as well as for my own peace of mind.

I know people say things they don’t mean all the time, especially when they are stressed out, upset, or angry. People lie either to hurt others or to protect themselves or simply because they like to lie. I swear that every word written here is the truth and nothing but the truth, so help me God. May He also forgive me for this murder I’m about to commit.

I have chosen this date for a reason. Today is my birthday, and the anniversary of our first kiss, fifty years ago. I turn sixty-three years old today. Five decades ago, I would have been considered an old woman at this age, gray-haired and wrinkled, and possibly
overweight. But that was then. Nowadays, thanks to the medical advances of the past fifty years, of which I have partaken freely – they’re there, right, so why not make use of them? I’m in the prime of my life. I look and feel not a day over thirty and have the sculpted
body, the vigor, and the mental acumen of a highly intelligent woman in her twenties.

When I was a teenager, there was this beautiful model named Cindy Crawford, who in her sixties looked like she was in her late thirties and was an example to women all over the world. She was to me. But the world has evolved, and that was then, and this is now.
Were Cindy Crawford alive today she would look like my older sister or maybe my young-looking mother, even though we would both be about the same age.

But I digress. I have, perhaps, too much on my mind. Images of the past keep streaming through my head. I think of the love of my life, him, and wonder what could have been but wasn’t; what was and shouldn’t have been.



I feel like crying as I see my life play out, in black-and-white like an old movie, on the screen of my mind.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

David Pereda is the award-winning author of nine novels, including Havana Blues and However Long the Night, as well as the Havana Series of thrillers featuring the dashing Doctor Raymond Peters and the beautiful but deadly Cuban assassin Marcela. He has traveled to more than thirty countries and speaks four languages. Before devoting his time
solely to writing and teaching, David had a successful international consulting career with global giant Booz Allen Hamilton, where he worked with the governments of Mexico, Venezuela, Peru and Qatar, among others.

A member of MENSA, David earned his MBA from Pepperdine University in California. He earned bachelor degrees in English literature and mathematics at the University of South Florida in Tampa.

He lives in artistic Asheville, North Carolina, with his youngest daughter Sophia, where he teaches mathematics and English at the Asheville-Buncombe Community College. He loves sports and is an accomplished competitor in track and show-jumping equestrian events.



Buy Link:

a Rafflecopter giveaway




Tuesday, July 31, 2018

The Speaker



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Andi O'Connor will be
awarding a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.

Fantasy
The Vaelinel Trilogy continues with this absorbing sequel to Silevethiel! Alone and hunted by the Drulaack, Irewen takes advantage of her only option for survival. Pushing her concerns aside, she lets the dead keep her.

But her refuge doesn't last long. Driven out of their hosts by Laegon, a handful Drulaack have returned to the Spirit World. No longer having the protection of the dead, Irewen is forced to return to Vaelinel.

​Finally reunited with her companions, the burdens placed on them are taking their toll. Thoughts of suicide and mistrust plague the company. Slowly unravelling, they must conquer their personal battles before standing against the evil threatening the land.

​For the Corrupter thirsts for revenge. And he'll stop at nothing to satisfy his hunger.

Read an excerpt
Slipping her arm out from beneath her cloak, Irewen reached for her dagger. Her fingertips met the smooth ivory handle, and she paused before sliding them around the hilt and gripping it tightly in her hand. Tears pooled in the corners of her eyes. Silevethiel didn’t need her. No one needed her.

Her breath caught in her throat as reality crashed down upon her.

Oh, but they did.

That was the real cause behind her urge to end her life. They needed her just as much as she needed them. She couldn’t handle the pressure. The fear of failure had consumed her so much she’d rather kill herself than take the risk of not succeeding. This didn’t fall under the adage of ‘if you fail, get up and try again.’ She wasn’t afforded a second chance. She had one opportunity to save her people. If she failed, she didn’t get to try once more.

She squeezed the dagger tighter.

That the world would fall because of her own weakness was the most terrifying thought of all. If she stood against this evil, her chances of victory were slim. She still hadn’t become familiar with her abilities, and she certainly hadn’t mastered anything. So far, she’d been learning as she went. She doubted she’d be able to repeat any magical attacks she’d done in the past.

Luck.

The word continued to resurface like a villain in a nightmare.

Luck.

Everything she’d accomplished since leaving Dargon could be contributed to chance. She wasn’t talented. She wasn’t skilled. She wasn’t strong magically, emotionally, or physically. What she’d contributed thus far had been a fluke—powers bestowed upon her because of her mother’s bloodline. They’d surfaced because of the direness of the situations in which she’d found herself, but she he had no idea how to willingly summon her magic. Even now, months after the chase through Mistwood, she still hadn’t been able to duplicate the spell she’d used when she defied orders and rode to aid Silevethiel and the other Guardians.

Yes, it had saved them all at the time, but the skill couldn’t be relied upon. She couldn’t be relied upon. Yet, everyone was doing just that. Everyone expected her to challenge the Corrupter and emerge victorious. According to Elthad, even the wizard had faith in her capability.

The dagger felt heavy in her hand. It called to her, daring her to drive it into her heart. She lifted her hand slightly, letting it hover above the ground while she battled the urge to give in.

All these people had faith in her. But she didn’t find that at all reassuring.

She had no faith in herself.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Andi O'Connor is the award-winning author of The Dragonath Chronicles, The Vaelinel Trilogy, and The Legacy of Ilvania. Her critically acclaimed novel, Silevethiel, is the 2015 Best Indie Book Award winner for Science Fiction/Fantasy and the 2015 New Apple Official Selection for Young Adult. Silevethiel was also named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2013. The Speaker is the 2018 Independent Press Award Winner for Fantasy and a Finalist
in the 11th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards. Andi’s novel, Awakening, is a 2018 Independent Press Award Distinguished Favorite for Fantasy.

You can frequently find Andi as an exhibitor and guest panelist at Comic Cons throughout the country including the Rhode Island Comic Con, Awesome Con, Philcon, Conclave, WizardWorld, and Chessiecon. You can connect with Andi on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. For more information, visit Andi’s website.

Social Media Links:

Purchase Links:




a Rafflecopter giveaway



Death Over Easy


Death Over Easy by Maddie Day


MY REVIEW

To begin with, I love this series not only because it’s a fun read, but also because it is based right in southern Indiana near good ole Beanblossom. Only a southern Indiana Hoosier and/or an Indiana University alumna would recognize Beanblossom or the small town she has named South Lick. Maddie Day has put Robbie’s handsome Italian dad in the book again.  She had just found out who he really was in the last book and…he’s an IU alumni which we know makes him a pretty good guy anyway. Along with  all of this, her country breakfast store called Pans and Pancakes has people lining up for a table. Wow. Between happy families, Italian visitors and Bluegrass music what could you possibly need in a mystery? Oh, yeah, a few bodies. They’re in here too.
From the previous paragraph you can obviously already tell I think Maddie Day is great at describing scenes and people. She makes me feel like I know her characters. They are well-defined, each having a distinct personality of their own. Her characters are fun, some even become your friends, at least the good guys do.  This is an easy read but well-written and it kept my interest all the way through.
Death Over Easy is the 5th book in this series titled “Country Store Mystery”. All this series has great reviews. I hope Maddie’s writing Book 6 as we read.


Sunday, July 29, 2018

A Promise Remembered

Fantasy

Two souls entangled in an eternal echo of true love…

Rowan and James have been drawn together in every existence since the beginning of time. But love's sweet promise is cut short after an unthinkable tragedy strikes two young families, shattering the bond in this lifetime.
Is love stronger than death? Can Rowan and James find another way to each other? Against all odds, a forgotten promise is remembered and kept, reuniting two souls destined to be together.

MY REVIEW
This is another Soul Mate Tree book.  If you are a very black and white practical person like I am, you would not normally read what I’ll call a paranormal romance like this. But this was such an entertaining read. I don’t think this is a book where the most important part is whether you believe in paranormal happenings. I think this is a great storyline about love and caring, about finding friends and losing them and about living with things we may always regret.  That covers a lot I know, but this relatively easy read encompasses all of those emotions.

I must admit I had a little trouble figuring out “who was who” at the beginning of this book. However, I think that might have been part of what the author meant to achieve. Once I was used to Riley’s characters, the story flowed well. Overall, it was an enjoyable read. A sweet book like the kind we all need sometimes.


This is Book 6 in the Soul Tree Mate series.  Erin S. Riley has many more books listed and all have good reviews. Check them out.

**This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review.


EXCERPT

Rowan opened the closet door, jumping back as the hinges squeaked, and gazed around the empty space. It was an old fashioned small closet with a single hanging bar and a shelf on top. There were no visible signs of rodents.

Scratch, scratch, scratch.

The sound was coming from under the floor, it seemed. She knelt carefully, keeping her can of compressed air at the ready, as she examined the wooden floorboards. Looking closer, she furrowed her brow. The blemish was nearly seamless, but she could tell the floorboards had been cut. Despite her fear of the rodents, her curiosity was piqued. Was there actually a secret compartment hidden in the closet floor?

Rowan used her fingernails to pry up the end of one of the floorboards, peering down warily in case the mouse decided to jump out at her. After removing two more boards, she used the flashlight on her phone to examine the dark hole. No beady red eyes stared back her. The secret compartment in the floor contained only what appeared to be a dusty shoebox.

Rowan sprayed some compressed air around to be safe, then pulled it out the box marked Airwalks, men’s size twelve. Carrying it closer to the window, she sat down on the floor to lift the lid.

There wasn’t much in it. A crumpled pack of Marlboros, so old the tobacco had fallen out of the cigarettes. A lighter. Several baseball cards. A pencil drawing of a large tree, drawn by someone who was by no means an artist. A well-worn Playboy magazine with Pamela Anderson on the cover. Rowan glanced at the date—1997.

A wave of sadness washed over her. She must have found the secret stash of Bella’s long-dead brother. Poor kid. It seemed oddly intrusive touching the private things of a dead boy, and Rowan hastened to put everything back where she found it. But the sound of something rolling in the box caught her attention, and she peered in.

A stick? A small twig half the size of her pinkie was in the bottom of the shoebox. Why had the dead boy put a stick in his secret shoebox? Despite herself, she reached in to pick it up.

A wave of energy prickled through her body, like a shot of expresso, quickening her pulse and her breathing. She heard a noise behind her that sounded like a gasp of surprise, and turned sharply to find she was no longer alone in her bedroom. Rowan screamed as she leapt to her feet.

A man stood in the middle of her bedroom, blocking her only exit. Tall, dark haired, lean yet muscular, he was nearly naked, wearing what appeared to be bicycle shorts. How had he gotten in her room? What was he going to do to her? With a sick sense of panic, Rowan remembered Bella saying her ex had been a crazy stalker. Had he returned to kill them both?

“What the . . .?” The man’s voice was deep and grumbling as he glared at her with displeasure. “How the hell did you get in my house, Rowan?”

Rowan backed up, still gripping the stick, and desperately looked around for a weapon. “How do you know my name?” she squeaked.

He stepped closer, his broad shoulders and naked chest now very close to her face. She got a whiff of aftershave as she peered up into angry green eyes that seemed startlingly familiar. Blinking in confusion, she dropped her gaze for a moment, which unfortunately landed on his ripped abs and the trail of fine hair that lead down toward the low waistband of his bike shorts.

Oh, they weren’t shorts. They were underwear. An angry man who somehow knew her name was standing in her bedroom wearing nothing but a tight pair of boxer briefs.

“How do I know your name?” he echoed unbelievingly. “Are you on something?” Confusion lanced his face as he looked around the room. “What did you do to my bedroom?”

He took another step in her direction, reaching out as though to touch her. Rowan screamed, dropping the stick, and bent to pick up the discarded can of compressed air with the intention of bashing him in the face with it. But when she looked up, he was gone.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:  Erin S. Riley will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC  to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. (see below)


Erin S. Riley has an undergraduate degree in psychology, a graduate degree in clinical counseling, and is a board-certified lactation consultant. Since Erin was a child, she has
been fascinated with human nature and what motivates behavior. She enjoys writing suspenseful, complicated love stories that take the reader on an emotional journey and end in happy tears. Erin is the author of the Sons of Odin Series: Odin’s Shadow; A Flame Put Out; and Oath Breaker; as well as a paranormal romance, A Promise Remembered.

http://tinyurl.com/TSMT6 (link for A Promise Remembered)