Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Assassin's Honor

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Gail Z. Martin will be awarding a $25  Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY.



Buddy flick epic fantasy! Joel Breckenridge and Garrett Kennard are King's Shadows, elite assassins serving the crown of Landria. When a shadowy itinerant holy man starts captivates the nobility with treasonous whispers, Ridge and Rett go rogue to stop the threat, save the kingdom and protect the king--while landing on the 'Most Wanted' list themselves.




Read an excerpt...
They wove a crooked course over the rooftops until they were several blocks north and a couple of streets west of Destwiler’s building. Ridge chanced a look over his shoulder and saw the glow from the fire in the distance. With the amount of gunpowder Rett had packed into the crate, the whole building would burn like a pyre.

“Here,” Rett said, coming to a stop at the edge of a building with a stout, solidly built chimney. He secured the rope and held it out to Ridge, who grabbed hold, turned, and stepped off into the night.

Kelvin stifled a cry as Ridge rappelled down the side of the building. At the bottom, he stepped away and whistled, Rett’s signal to descend. Ridge spun and faced an empty street.

“He’s not here,” Ridge grated.

“He’ll be here,” Rett replied, unperturbed.

Racing hoof beats thundered in the night, and a black carriage turned the corner so fast it rose up on two wheels. The wild-eyed black stallion bore down like it meant to trample the three of them, reined in at the last moment by the short, balding, pudgy driver.

“Right on time!” Henri, the driver, exulted. Ridge glowered but said nothing as Rett threw open the door of the carriage, and they climbed inside, Kelvin between them. The carriage started up at a gallop before they had taken their seats, throwing them against the sides.

“Hang on,” Ridge advised Kelvin. “The driver is a madman.”

READ a great interview with the author. HERE


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Gail Z. Martin writes epic fantasy, urban fantasy and steampunk for Solaris Books, Orbit Books, Falstaff Books, SOL Publishing and Darkwind Press. Vengeance is the second in the new Darkhurst epic fantasy series. Also new is The Dark Road, the second in the Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures series, and Assassin’s Honor (coming, October 2018), the first in the
new Assassins of Landria series.

Her Deadly Curiosities urban fantasy series set in Charleston, SC has a new novel, Tangled Web, and two new collections, Trifles & Folly, and Trifles & Folly 2.

Other work includes the Chronicles Of The Necromancer series, the Fallen Kings Cycle, the Ascendant Kingdoms series, and the alternate history novel Iron & Blood and the Storm & Fury collection (co-authored with Larry N. Martin) She is also the co-author (with Larry) of the Mark Wojcik monster hunter series (Spells, Salt and Steel) and the upcoming Wasteland Marshals series and the Cauldron/Secret Council series from Falstaff Books.

As Morgan Brice, she writes urban fantasy MM paranormal romance. New and upcoming books include Witchbane, Burn, Dark Rivers, Badlands, and Lucky Town.

Find her at www.GailZMartin.com

Twitter @GailZMartin

Gail is also the organizer of the #HoldOnToTheLight campaign www.HoldOnToTheLight.com

Join her email update and never miss a new release—plus get great free stories just for signing up! http://eepurl.com/dd5XLj

Buy on Audio, ebook, paperback or free on Kindle Unlimited here: http://a.co/d/aLiSoFi

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Monday, December 3, 2018

A Recipe for Murder by Jo Hiestand

A neat book on sale right now at Amazon 



December bullies its way into the village in a swirl of snow and biting wind, threatening to cancel the annual St. Nicholas festival. But winter’s slap pales when a body is discovered in the candlelit church. Someone is not living up to the seasonal wish of ‘peace on earth, good will towards man.’
But the village harbors more than Christmas gifts, DS Brenna Taylor discovers as she and her colleagues from the Derbyshire Constabulary begin working the case. There is the feud between two rival authors; a wife’s open disdain of her husband and his secret comfort in the arms of another woman; the pent-up emotions of a vicar’s wife forced to conform to idealistic conceptions; the tacit threat of a troubled teenager and his delinquent girlfriend.
Brenna also discovers emotions she didn’t know she had when DS Mark Salt, her harassing macho cohort, makes overtures of genuine friendship. Now Brenna must not only examine her love for her boss, DCI Geoffrey Graham, but also consider the likelihood of its ever being returned.
As if sorting through the affairs of the heart and the tangle of motive and suspects in the case weren’t hard enough, a series of arsons threatens the very village itself. And Brenna wonders if they are looking for two felons or just one very disturbed individual

MY REVIEW
Whoever thought a murder mystery could put you in the Christmas spirit? Nonetheless, this one is filled with all the trimmings and decorations, even the snow for Christmas time.


A cold as concrete in winter kind of church and a dead body. Scary, at least to me. That’s the opening to Jo Hiestand’s “A Recipe for Murder”. While it may sound cold and scary, the village was really preparing for the St. Nicholas Festival at the same time. One of their big celebrations at Christmastime. There’s greenery and hot cross buns and decorated trees of course, as well as every other Christmas delight you can think of. Everyone was busy doing their assigned tasks for the Festival, at least they all say they were.

Brenna Taylor is still wishing Graham would notice her. She knows it isn’t professional. Two coppers can’t have a relationship. But do you think that keeps her from thinking of him almost every waking moment. Someone had better knock some sense into her if she wants to stay on the force.

So, is this a light fun mystery? No, it’s a British murder mystery and a good one. One almost impossible to figure out the bad guy or girl before the very end. But it’s a well-written, great mystery for curling up and either watching the snow or dreaming of it, depending on where you live.

This is Book 2 of a series titled “Peak District Mystery”.  Many of the Peak District mysteries are based upon British customs and holidays. Hiestand has another series titled McLaren Mysteries. Also great. Check them out.


About Jo
In 2001 Jo graduated from Webster University with a BA degree and departmental honors in English.
She lives in the St Louis, MO area, and spends as much time as she can writing mysteries and watching the barges on the river.
Her love of writing, board games and music came together when she and a friend invented a mystery-solving game, P.I.R.A.T.E.S., which uses maps, graphics, song lyrics, and other clues to lead the players to the lost treasure.
  Along with fellow mystery author Pam DeVoe, Jo teachs a mystery writing course at St. Louis Community College.






Sunday, December 2, 2018

The Dark Road and The Storm Within


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Cerian Hebert will be awarding a $10 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.  CLICK HERE to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and to read an excerpt.

Blurb
Healed from her own loss, Juliana Hopkins wants nothing more than to mend reclusive artist Aidan Byrne’s heart, and help close a chapter in his life that has haunted him for over twenty years. Risking their newfound love, Juliana is determined to release the ghosts he can’t let go.
Aidan has been in love with Juliana since the first moment he saw her, but if she can’t leave the tragedies of his past alone, he won’t be able to make a life with her.
She offers him a love he never dared to want, but loving her could rip open all the old wounds he’d never been able to heal.



~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Gail Z. Martin will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.  CLICK HERE to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and to read an excerpt and for an Interview with the Author.



Jonmarc Vahanian fled from the raiders and monsters that killed his family, but when danger dogs his steps once again, he leaves the traveling caravan that gave him shelter to become a mercenary in nearby Principality. His fighting skills help him rise through the ranks, and draw the attention of a Nargi general—and the general’s undead mage. An old, unsettled score turns deadly, trapping Jonmarc in dangerous intrigue. He can save himself—and betray everything he holds dear—or die a hero as the raider’s curse holds true.

This collection is the second set of short stories and novellas that reveal another phase of Jonmarc’s growth from a blacksmith’s son to becoming one of the greatest warriors in the history of the Winter Kingdoms.

Soldier. Fight slave. Smuggler. Warrior. Brigand Lord. You may have encountered Jonmarc Vahanian in the Chronicles of the Necromancer but you don’t really know him until you walk in his footsteps.




Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Twelve Days

Romance

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Hope Waters will be awarding a $50 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Zoey Blake is having a perfect holiday season. Finals are over and it's time to head home for Christmas, but when she wins the Hartbreakers True Love contest to join them of their tour, she has a chance to follow her favorite band for twelve days -- and twelve steamy nights.



Mackenzie Hart has been a player since and joining Hartbreakers has only edged up his game, that is until he meets Zoey. She's turned his world upside down and only she can make it right. Now all he has to do is convince her to stay with him forever. For a guy like Mack, that shouldn't be too hard but it's gonna take all he has and twelve days to win her true love.


Read an Excerpt...

“Zoey,” Nia yelled from inside her bunk, where she had been talking to Josh. “Mack wants to say good night.”

I heard a chorus of approvals from the back of the bus. I stuck my tongue out at them and they laughed. I took the walkie-talkie from Nia and went back to my bunk.

“Hello?”

“Hi, Zoey.

“I just wanted to say goodnight,” Mack said over the crackles.

I smirked. “Why don’t you just call me?”

“Isn’t there something romantic about saying good night over a two-way radio channel in the wilds of Texas where a dozen truckers can hear us?”

I rolled my eyes. “I guess it’s romantic,” I said with a laugh. “Thank you. That is very sweet. Good night Mack.”

“Night.”

Before I shut off the walkie-talkie, I heard from over the waves, “Aw, you kids are cute.” I let out a laugh and turned it off as I handed it back to Nia. I closed my curtains and laid down to sleep as visions of Mack danced in my head.

About the Author: Straight out of fandom, Hope Waters has been writing for over thirty years. From a young age, she was crafting stories to entertain others of all ages and continues to do so to this day. Hope uses she/they for pronouns and enjoys a good book with a cup of coffee and snuggles from her cats.



Website: http://www.hopewaters.net

Twitter: http://twitter.com/HopeWatersBooks

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/HopeWatersBooks

E-mail: hope@hopewaters.net



NOTE: The book is on sale for $0.99.



Amazon buy link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JLTNCC3



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Twisted Tales of Deceit

Dark Fiction
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. P. D. Alleva will be awarding a $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and for all other stops on the tour.

Twisted Tales of Deceit is the first installment in the Beyond the Chamber Door series. Featuring three tales (The Calculated Desolation of Hope, Somnium, & Knickerbocker) chronicling an evil influence on the human psyche, tipping our hands into the engagement of what is most horrifying; our dastardly, human deeds steeped in self-destruction, desperation and the loss of dreams. Metaphorical warnings have been constructed inside these pages to reflect the everyday signs the universe provides under the guise of reflective light that return to mirror how evil tempts our hand so to not fulfill the dreams of the soul. Our doubts, our sadness, our indecisions rooted in fear, are toiled with by the presence of imps bent on hatred and in need of our nightmares to survive. Here, the human spirit is dripped like honey, tasteful to the dark corridors of human malevolence and taken advantage by the corrupt and seamlessly endless parade other worldly dimensions have on what should be our earthly utopia, creating rage in the cosmic hedonism of jealousy.

Read an excerpt...

He remembered the wolf, roaming in the room. Saw the gamer and the boy he had saved with their throats cut out as the wolf fed on them. Their black eyeballs staring at William.

Remembered how the bodies were taken from the room. Remembered how he screamed but had no strength to do anything about it.

And how Katarina appeared again, another needle in hand. Remembered how he wanted it now, to help him forget. She shot him up and his world became smaller, the walls closing in to squeeze all that he knew in between the four walls of that tiny room, now no bigger than the bed he lay on.

He remembered how the world disappeared, melted away like ice.

Remembered how the darkness invited itself into his space, and how the world had gone mad.

“What the fu…” he grumbled, collapsing to the floor. His heart fluttered, and his skin flushed pale white and red. He leaned against the wall, watching the final dissipation of daylight outside the window. And the room grew dark with a sliver of moonlight that broke through the window as his memories faded and an unnerving hunger cried out from his veins. A tiny voice in his head.

“More,” it called. “Please, more.”

His body felt pain, pain like he’d never felt before. His mind felt confusion, he couldn’t put a thought together. His eyes turned wet with tears and he started to wail. He wailed until his voice gave out.

And then the footsteps. Loud, clunking footsteps against the wood floor. The massive image half hidden in the darkness, half illuminated by the moonlight, seemed to drift toward him with a mindful caution only to disappear just before reaching him. His vision wavered as the hunger grew.

In front of him, nose to nose, Mephisto shined his yellow eyes on him. And Mephisto grinned, scooping him in his arms like a baby and delivering him to the bed.

“Rest,” Mephisto said, pausing as he looked on William who saw the death of stars gleaming in Mephisto’s eyes.

“And welcome…to oblivion.”

His grin was sinister, daring and satisfied.

READ A GREAT INTERVIEW FROM P.D. ALLEVA     HERE


AUTHOR Bio and Links:


P.D. Alleva is an author, psychotherapist and hypnotherapist specializing in trauma, addiction and mental health. He is the author of several books, including fiction novels, Indifference and A Billion Tiny Moments In Time…, Seriously Twisted; These Gods of
Darkness (Poetry), Let Your Soul Evolve (1st and 2nd ed), and Spiritual Growth Therapy: Philosophy, Practices and Mindfulness Workbook (non-fiction). He has developed behavioral protocols for addiction and mental health and teaches mindfulness, Buddhist meditations and manifestation techniques to his patients as a means and alternative to using pharmaceuticals. Go to spiritualgrowththerapy.com to learn more. Mr. Alleva offers a special discount on his video tutorials for his readers, so please use Promo Code 7474 for a special 90% discount. He is currently in private practice with his wife, Lisa. He lives with his wife and children in Boca Raton, Florida.

Amazon Purchase Link:

Follow the Author:
Instagram: pdalleva_author

Twitter:      pdalleva_author

Facebook:  @pdallevaauthor


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Check out the Tour at these sites too


October 10: Mythical Books
October 17: Fabulous and Brunette
October 17: Candrel's Crafts, Cooks, and Characters
October 24: Danita Minnis
October 24: Long and Short Reviews
October 31: Kit 'N Kabookle
October 31: The Tired Buyer
November 7: Rogue's Angels
November 7: Edgar's Books
November 14: All the Ups and Downs
November 21: Lisa Haselton's Reviews and Interviews
November 28: The Reading Addict
November 28: Bookaholic
December 5: Books,Dreams,Life
December 5: Straight From the Library




Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Longevity



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Caleb Smith will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



Noah Thomas is a scrawny seventh grader who is bullied to the brink in his new town. Friendless, except for sassy tomboy Wendy Sherman, who seems to lend him the confidence he needs to stand up to his oppressors. Upon stumbling into a bookshop one afternoon while on the run from some teenaged tyrants, Noah is hurled into an unexplainable adventure. Noah learns that the bookshop does, in fact, lead to the Akashic Records – a place that holds all spirit lives recorded in tablets of light. With this new found knowledge, Noah begins to grow in wisdom and confidence to face his fears. His biggest challenge comes in the form of five demonic spirits that he accidentally lets loose from a lost tablet. Will Noah succeed with the help of his guardian angel cat he calls Keeper, or will all Hell's henchman prevail?



"A spiritual thriller that skillfully celebrates determination and self-discipline - Kirkus Reviews "


Read an Excerpt:


Elijah was busy containing the damned and all the energies he could catch, holding them tightly until their essence spontaneously combusted into cosmic dust as the window shattered. The night wind howled angrily. With the wave of his hand, Elijah repaired the window to its normal state, and Enoch found the metal sleeve to lock this lost Akashic tablet, sliding both book and key into his deep pocket. Elijah then moved to Noah’s aid, ignoring the result of the mayhem that had occurred in this room. He cradled Noah’s head and lifted his torso. Noah awakened to the sight of the two pillars of heaven towering over him and shining light into his peepers. He was not as shocked as he should have been. He quickly remembered what he had done, and then Elijah set him on his feet to stand. He wished he was more surprised to see them, but he knew full well the reason for their visit.


About the Author:
Caleb Smith an author from Bangor Maine, holds a passion for nature, spiritual study, family, poetry, art, strength training and golf. Honesty, simplicity and a hard work ethic are the best things that shape his day.


Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/calebsmithauthor

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/calebsmith

Publisher: http://www.blackrosewriting.com

Book Video: https://youtu.be/FmlGJqQ-t4Y

Goodreads Giveaway: https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/284681-longevity-the-wardens-of-time




Buy Links:


https://www.amazon.com/Longevity-Wardens-Time-Caleb-Smith/dp/1684331382

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/longevity-caleb-smith/1129584642

http://www.blackrosewriting.com/childrens-booksya/longevity







a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sunday, November 18, 2018

Saving Anna

Women's Fiction
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Sharon Struth will be awarding a $10  Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and for all other stops on the tour.



Germany’s sparkling Rhineland is the perfect place for a fresh start . . .



Warming people’s hearts with true accounts of kindness is what columnist Anna Kelly does best. But no one knows the private misery she endures in her abusive marriage. Still, leaving is difficult—until a deeply personal bequest from a beloved elderly neighbor compels Anna to travel to Germany. There she begins an unexpected adventure of paying it forward that will take her far from her complicated life in Brooklyn.

Arriving in the historic and picturesque city of Mainz, on the breathtaking Rhine River, Anna settles in at a cozy guesthouse filled with colorful residents. But fulfilling her task will require the help of a translator and knowledgeable guide.

Josef Schmitt will gladly shuttle the American visitor around if it distracts him from his dark thoughts. Ever since a serious accident sidelined him at the local excursions company, he’s been unable to forget the pain he caused or forgive himself. Now, accompanying Anna on her mission takes them both to surprising places—and they just may find the courage to truly set themselves free . . .

My Review
Sometimes our relationships change so fast it’s almost as if we weren’t looking. Then we have to wonder which side changed. Which one of us became so different or did we really just not want to see the problems in the first place. You know what I mean, back at the beginning when we were so happy. What a tangled web huh? Along with all of this comes having to find the strength to leave; to just get out. Often when we finally accomplish this, we end up meeting someone with their own baggage. Sometimes it’s good to have someone to share it with and sometimes what you left behind might be harmful to the health of everyone around you. This is the story of Anna.

This is an involved book; one that could be thought of as the romance genre or maybe Women’s Fiction. While this genre is not particularly my “thing”, I had a hard time putting this book down. The storyline is good, and it also touches on a subject many people understand; others question, and some cannot even conceive of. This leads to the only thing I became impatient with in this book. I kept wondering why in the world anyone would feel any obligation to an abuser. But you see, it hasn’t happened to me. Those of us in this position all think we would just walk right out. But we don’t know what that life is like. Struth did such a good job of describing and portraying the situation, I became impatient with the character Anna. Guess that’s what you call good writing huh?

This is the second book I have read and reviewed by Sharon Struth. It’s the second time I’ve said romance was not a genre I enjoyed. She just writes well and sort of sucks you into the story.


***This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are definitely my own.

Read an excerpt...
In two days, Patrick would return to LaGuardia airport and take a cab directly to his office at Goldman Sachs. The lawyer said he’d have the divorce papers served there around lunchtime. By then, she’d already be on another continent. Far away from the physical abuse he’d want to inflict on her once the papers were in his hands. Of that, she felt certain. He’d smacked her around for lesser infractions, starting just days after they’d returned from their honeymoon.


Even though she would be leaving the country to stay safe, he deserved a note. A note would be easier than a conversation.

At the kitchen island, she found a pad and steadied a pen on the paper.

Dear Patrick,
If you’re reading this, it means you’re back from Florida and have realized I’m not here.

Anna ripped the page off the small legal pad, crumpled it into a ball, and tossed it on the marble island. She wrote for a living and could do better.

Dear Patrick,
For the past two years, I’ve begged you to get help. I understand your father hurt you, but I can no longer accept your past as an excuse for hurting me. ME! The person who always loved you, tried to help you, accepted your many, many apologies. You say you love me, but your actions speak otherwise. I no longer love you. You bully me, make me afraid, and refuse to let me to see my friends and family—

She ripped the paper off the pad and tore it in half. Too much. She’d spoken these words to him many times after he’d calm down, her speeches always soliciting remorse-filled apologies she’d blindly believed for the first year of their marriage. The second year, she’d grown skeptical, but continued to cover the bruises and lie to anybody who happened to see one. Now, she despised him.

The clock on the wall showed it was time to leave. She pressed the pen to the paper and the words flowed easily this time.

Dear Patrick,
By now you’ve been served the divorce papers and know I’m leaving you. Please seek help and do not look for me. If you are calm when I return, we can talk. Otherwise, you will deal with my attorney.
Anna

She propped the note next to a bowl of fruit, where they always left messages they wanted the other to see…

AUTHOR Bio and Links:
Sharon Struth believes you’re never too old to pursue a dream. The Hourglass, her debut novel, was a finalist in the National Readers’ Choice Awards for Best First Book. She is the author of the popular Blue Moon Lake Novels, which include Share the Moon.

When she’s not working, she and her husband happily sip their way through the scenic towns of the Connecticut Wine Trail, travel the world, and enjoy spending time with their precious pets and two grown daughters. She writes from the friendliest place she’s ever lived, Bethel, Connecticut. For essays, please visit www.sharonstruth.com or visit her blog, Musings from the Middle more information, including where to find her published Ages & More at www.sharonstruth.wordpress.com

Buy Links:





a Rafflecopter giveaway




See the Tour at these other sites

November 5: Long and Short Reviews
November 12: Kimmi Love
November 12: Mixed Book Bag
November 19: Andi's Book Reviews
November 19: Bookaholic
November 19: Fabulous and Brunette
November 26: Locks, Hooks and Books
November 26: Rainy Day Reviews




Thursday, November 15, 2018

House of Ashes

Mystery
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Loretta Marion will be awarding a $50  Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and for all other stops on the tour.






Thirty-seven-year-old painter Cassandra Mitchell is fourth-generation to live in the majestic Battersea Bluffs, a brooding Queen Anne home originally built by her great-grandparents, Percy and Celeste Mitchell, and still standing despite tragedies that have swept the generations. Local lore has it that there was a curse placed on the family and the house is haunted, though opinions are divided on whether it's by malicious or benevolent spirits. Cassie believes the latter―but now she stands to lose her beloved home to mounting debt and the machinations of her dream-weaving ex-husband.


Salvation seems to arrive when a nomadic young couple wanders onto the property with the promise of companionship and much-needed help―until they vanish without a trace, leaving behind no clue to their identities. Cassie is devastated, but determined to discover what's happened to the young couple...even as digging into their disappearance starts to uncover family secrets of her own. Despite warnings from her childhood friend, now the local Chief of Police―as well as an FBI agent who pushes the boundaries of professionalism―Cassie can't help following the trail of clues (and eerie signals from the old house itself) to unravel the mystery. But can she do so before her family's dark curse destroys everything in its path?

My Review
Suspense-filled and yet an easy read, this story set in Whale Rock on Cape Cod involves a young woman living in a historic family home on a bluff well known as Percy’s Bluff. Sometimes when we are vulnerable or maybe even desperate our judgement is not as good as it might be otherwise. Sometimes we just don’t want to see things as they might be. It doesn’t matter who warns us to be cautious. Is this the case with Cassie? Is she too dependent on staying in this beautiful old Victorian home of her descendants?

Really enjoyed the storyline of this book. Of course, I always like stories of seacoast towns and Cape Cod in particular and this one has a little mystique. While putting a little taste of the paranormal here, the author added suspense without going over the top. The characters were folk in a place where only locals really fit.

Just really a book I didn’t want to put down and was sad when the last page was read.

An interesting book in which the only fault I can find is…write another one.


***This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are definitely my own.


Read an excerpt...
Present day ~ Whale Rock, Massachusetts ~ Cape Cod

September ~ three days since the disappearance

Back at home, I took a good look at my beloved Battersea Bluffs, with its towering widow’s walk, double chimneys, and impressive wrap-around porch. It had become part of Whale Rock’s lore that the majestic Victorian sitting high above the cliffs on the craggy northern end of town was possessed by the spirits of my great- grandparents, Percy and Celeste Mitchell, its original owners. The legend evolved from a rumor initiated by my father when he was trying to take back his rightful home. It had been a successful strategy, but he could never have guessed how prophetic his fable would become—or maybe he’d already sensed the mysterious aspects of the old house. To be fair, Papa and I had never discussed the lurking scents and sounds presented by the spirits sharing our home.

I unlatched the gate, to a warm greeting of soft whimpers and an exuberant tail.

“You’re missing them too, aren’t ya, buddy?” I reached down to stroke the German shepherd’s glossy black fur, those usually erect ears momentarily relaxed. I widened the gate.

I followed the dog to the ledge of Percy’s Bluffs, so named after my great-grandfather’s dramatic leap from the cliffs overlooking Cape Cod Bay. I stared down to where the waves were crashing against the rocks below. Through the years, this spot had become my refuge, where I’d come to contemplate decisions or brood over troubles. Exhausted and numb, I sank to the ground and idly fingered an abandoned champagne cork, probably left here the night Vince and Ashley moved in with me. We’d brought a bottle down to the cliffs to toast our new alliance and the home they were going to help me save. I closed my eyes to bring to memory the feel of the fizzy liquid against my tongue, the first I’d tasted in years.  There’d not been much to celebrate in recent times. But that night, a sense of hope had returned to me.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

A true bibliophile, Loretta Marion's affection for the written word began in childhood and followed her like a shadow throughout her life as she crafted award winning marketing and
advertising copy and educational brochures. She then applied her writing skills as a volunteer, establishing a Legacy Story program for hospice patients, which inspired her to create her own fictional stories. Her debut novel, The Fool's Truth, was a twisty mystery with whispers of romance. Her newest novel, HOUSE OF ASHES – A Haunted Bluffs Mystery, is the first in a series published by Crooked Lane Books.

When not whipping out words on her laptop, she is traveling, enjoying outdoor pursuits, or is curled up with a delicious new book. Loretta lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Geoffrey, and their beloved Mr. Peabody, a sweet, devoted and amusing “Corgador”.


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Check out the Tours for this book...



Wednesday, November 14, 2018

A Very Merry Murder

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Mary Angela will be awarding a $20  Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY and for all other stops on the tour.



It’s December in Copper Bluff, and from hillside to hallowed hall, everyone is merry—or will be as soon as semester break arrives. Students are studying, professors are grading, and Emmeline Prather is anticipating the university-sponsored holiday concert. Friend and colleague Lenny Jenkins will be accompanying the visiting quartet, Jazz Underground, and Em can’t think of a better way to kick-start the holiday season. 

But before she can say “Jingle Bell Rock,” trouble arrives at Candlelight Inn, the bed and breakfast where the quartet is staying.  One of the band members dies unexpectedly, and suspicion falls on Em, whose altercation with the man ends with him on the floor. He never recovers, and now she’s worried her reputation might not either.

When Emmeline starts to see parallels between an Agatha Christie novel she’s teaching and the victim, Lenny claims she’s read one too many mysteries. But as the clues unravel, so does the murderer’s patience. Em is close to finding the truth, but will the truth—or the murderer—push her over the edge?  It will take a Christmas miracle to solve this case, but if there’s one thing in surplus this time of year, it’s faith.



MY REVIEW

What an enjoyable cozy. I think a good part of the fun has to do with the character, Emmeline, or should I say Professor Emmeline Prather. Em is a little, shall I say “bookish” and murders just sort of seem to happen around her. Then again, that has to happen to someone in most mysteries for there to be a book, doesn’t it? But this cozy…the setting is fun and really quite different. There’s a little tongue-in-cheek as far as academia is concerned right along with those dedicated teachers we’ve all had at one time or another. 

All of this comes with a Christmastime mood and spirit.

I’ve probably already given you an idea of how I felt about the main character, Emmeline. She makes this story. Could a few of the other characters have been a little more defined? Maybe but I don’t think the lack of it detracted at all from the story. Another definite attraction was the author’s description of the scenes. The decorating for Christmas, the elaborate decorations at the Inn. All of this was very vivid, and I felt as though I was amidst it all.

This is Book 3 in a series titled “A Professor Prather Mystery”. It was a fun, enjoyable, quick read and after all…it really puts you in the Christmas spirit. What more could you ask?

***This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are definitely my own.

Read an excerpt...
“To be fair,” I said, grabbing a piece of Mrs. Gunderson’s peanut brittle, “the kiss was reciprocal. Pen seemed to be enjoying Miles’s attention quite a bit.” I offered the candy to Lenny and took another piece.


“Did he know her, or was he just that good looking?” He took a bite.

I munched quietly. I wasn’t sure I wanted to answer the question.

“Really?” he said.

“Miles had good looks, a sexy voice, and stage presence.” I shrugged. “I can see why girls flocked to him. But Pen? You’re right. We need to find out if they knew each other, or if that was their first encounter.”

“Oh no,” he said, reaching for another piece of candy. “I didn’t say we needed to find out anything about anyone.”

“Come on, Lenny. You’ve got a reason for going out to the inn. You could say one of your friends left something behind. Something musical.”

He shook his head. “Musicians are pretty maniacal about their stuff. They don’t just leave things behind. Besides, how do you know Pen will be there?”

“I don’t. But Alyssa said they’ve been busy this December with Christmas travelers. Pen is probably working.” I put a K-Cup in my Keurig. “Even if she isn’t, we could still ask Alyssa. She might be able to tell us a little about her.”

Lenny stared into the living room. “I think we have a more immediate problem.”

“What could be more immediate than my impending DNA sample?” I said.

The tree chose that moment to topple over.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Mary Angela is the author of the Professor Prather academic mystery series, which has been called “enjoyable” and “clever” by Publishers Weekly. She is also an educator and has taught English and humanities at South Dakota’s public and private universities for over ten years. When Mary isn’t writing or teaching, she enjoys reading, traveling, and spending time with her family. For more information about Mary or the series, go to MaryAngelaBooks.com.







a Rafflecopter giveaway



Check out the Tour at these Hosts too

November 1: The Reading Addict
November 1: Andi's Book Reviews
November 8: Long and Short Reviews
November 15: Bookaholic
November 15: Sharing Links and Wisdom
November 29: Locks, Hooks and Books
November 29: Jane Reads
November 29: Fabulous and Brunette