Wednesday, January 15, 2020

No Easy Catch




This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Jaqueline Snowe will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



A jock and a party girl teaming up—makes total sense, right? Actually, maybe…

Ambar Hernandez is a senior communications major who has no idea what she wants to do in life. She spends most of her time working on her blog after gaining a lot of readers with a story she wrote junior year and…never followed up on. The last thing she expects is an angry jock accusing her of involvement in a scam that could shake the college to its foundations.

Jeff Maddow should be focused on his senior season of baseball and not the suspicious activity happening on the team. It’s his time to shine and get drafted, but after seeing incriminating evidence, he can’t not investigate. And his first lead is the campus blogger…who’s related to a name in the document he saw.


Ambar’s been coasting, writing about campus fashion and hook-ups rather than politics and economics, but when Jeff shows up at her place spouting wild accusations, she agrees to help him just to prove the stubborn athlete wrong.

Long nights, impassioned arguments, close quarters…both Jeff and Ambar find opposites more than attract when things heat up.


Read an Excerpt



He rolled over and slowly opened his sleepy eyes. His voice was all husky and gruff when he asked, “You watching me sleep?”



Busted. “Maybe?”



“Join me.” He moved to the back of the bed and painted a perfect image with his messy hair, clear gray eyes and playful smirk. The smile was new and I shut the laptop to move into his inviting arms. His body heat comforted me when he wrapped his large arms around me, snuggling his nose into my neck. “Mm, you smell good.”



“Thank you,” I said, hating how the longer the lie went on, the more it physically affected my insides. “I didn’t wake you, did I? You were sleeping so peacefully.”



“You didn’t, but I wouldn’t have minded you waking me up.” He began kissing along my neck and bit down on my earlobe. Goosebumps broke out all over my arms and he giggled, all low and deep. “I love your body’s reaction to me.”



“She betrays any resolve I have.” I squirmed when he moved his hands up my shirt and caressed my bare skin. It felt so damn good. “Are-are you sure you shouldn’t be sleeping?”



“Ambar,” he said in a very serious tone. “You’re about the only thing in my life right now that is good. I want to enjoy you and forget about the shitstorm we started.”



Pain began in the back of my throat at the tender way he looked at me. He meant those words and I forced myself to close my eyes to prevent tears leaking out. I’m protecting him. That’s why I’m not telling him. His lips parted and he looked like he was about to say something and I couldn’t handle hearing anything else. I gripped the back of his neck and brought his face down to mine, capturing his lips in the most passionate kiss I could. It was hard to try and apologize and show him I would do anything to protect him without words, but I gave it my all.



About the Author:
Jaqueline Snowe lives in Arizona where the "dry heat" really isn't that bad. She identifies as a full-blown Gryffindor and prefers drinking coffee all hours of the day. She is the mother to two fur-babies who don’t realize they aren’t humans and a new mom to her adorable son. Her life revolves around balancing her day job in education and her incessant need to write and explore the world with her wonderful baseball-loving husband.




Blog: http://www.jaquelinesnowe.com/blog

Website: http://www.jaquelinesnowe.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/jaquelinesnowe

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jaquelinesnowe

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/jaquelinesnowe



Buy links: https://books2read.com/u/bw2JMO

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/No-Easy-Catch-Romance-Chasers-ebook/dp/B08231BHSD/

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/no-easy-catch-jaqueline-snowe/1135212198





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Spring at the Little Duck Cafe


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Rosie Green will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



Fleeing from a romance gone wrong, Ellie Farmer arrives in the pretty village of Sunnybrook, hoping for a brand new start that most definitely does not include love!

Following an unscheduled soak in the village duck pond, she meets Sylvia, who runs the Little Duck Pond Cafe. Renting the flat above the cafe seems like the answer to Ellie's prayers. It's only for six months, which will give her time to sort out her life, far away from cheating boyfriend Richard.

But is running away from your past ever really the answer?

Clashing with the mysterious and brooding Zak Chamberlain, an author with a bad case of writer's block, is definitely not what Ellie needs right now. And then there's Sylvia, who's clinging so hard to her past, she's in danger of losing the quaint but run-down cafe altogether.

Can Ellie find the answers she desperately needs in Sunnybrook? And will she be able to help save Sylvia's Little Duck Pond Cafe from closure?

My Review
What a delight. This is just fun and clean. It will make you smile, and make you hope now and then that things are going to work out as you wish. All of that’s wrapped up in a very quick read. This is a cozy with sweet characters and funny moments.

My description sounds as if this is fluff but the truth is, this cute, sweet book also touches on some deep problems many of us face with family and friends. It isn’t sad except it has its touching moments. Some “swallow hard” moments.

This is Book 1 of a series titled Little Duck Pond Café. Rosie Green has several books published and I couldn’t find anything but good reviews on all of them. This is just one of those books you need to put on your TBR list. 


Read an Excerpt

A sudden noise makes me turn my head towards the cottage and I almost lose my balance, grasping just in time at a branch above my head.

Oh, nightmare!

A tall man is striding out of the house towards me, looking understandably peeved. He crosses the grass and stands right below me.

‘What’s going on?’ The deep, rumbling voice matches his big, lean frame as he stands there, hands on hips, glaring up at me. I can barely see his eyes beneath the tumble of dark hair but I’m pretty sure they’re flashing with anger.

I swallow hard and open my mouth to start apologising but my throat feels so dry, nothing comes out. So I’m left staring back at him like a stunned haddock.

‘Well?’ His bark tones down a notch. I think he’s realised from my gormless expression that I pose no big security threat to his tree or his person.

‘Sorry.’ I manage to choke out a single word. But looking down, I feel quite faint. Descending is going to be a challenge. Fright has welded my bottom to the branch.

‘Are you doing this for a dare?’ he asks, glancing towards the hedge as if he expects to see a friend with a sheepish grin pop up at any moment with their thumb in the air. ‘We’ve had one or two break-ins lately, so you can understand how I might feel slightly suspicious about a strange woman lurking in my tree.’

Oh, God, does he think I’m a burglar?


About the Author:
Rosie has been scribbling stories ever since she was little.

Back then, they were rip-roaring adventure tales with a young heroine in perilous danger of falling off a cliff or being tied up by ‘the baddies’.

Thankfully, Rosie has moved on somewhat, and now much prefers to write romantic comedies that melt your heart and make you smile, with really not much perilous danger at all – unless you count the heroine losing her heart in love.

Spring at the Little Duck Pond Café is the first in Rosie’s brand new series of novellas centered around life in a village café. Each novella is a ‘stand-alone’ read.

You can connect with Rosie Green on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Rosie_Green1988


Amazon purchase link: https://amzn.to/2W8uXF7

NOTE: Book is free


Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Rosie-Green/e/B07CZYV7DW%3Fref=dbs_a_mng_rwt_scns_share





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, January 13, 2020

You Kill Me

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Holly LeRoy will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY.






LIEUTENANT EVE SHARPE should have seen the avalanche of trouble headed her way but events had dulled her edge and crumbled her foundation of toughness. With the press and politicians all coming for her, Eve begins to question whether she is really a cold blooded murderer or simply losing her mind. Was it an officer involved shooting gone wrong? An honest mistake? Or, something much, much worse?


There's one thing for sure, it has turned the Chicago Police Department upside down, and Lieutenant Eve Sharpe's life along with it.

my review...

Sometimes things happen and there is no question in your mind you are doing the right thing. Then people can be so against you that you begin to question yourself. Such is the dilemma of Eve Sharpe.

I enjoyed this book. It is called a mystery/thriller genre. I felt it should almost be categorized as crime fiction because of its descriptive writing of police procedures and investigations. Another reason I liked reading this good cop/bad cop book was that while it does have those moments of making you gasp, it isn’t a thriller in the sense of having to read all of the grisly details over and over.

I liked LeRoy’s characters. Eve was of course my favorite. It seemed to me there were a lot of characters involved which can sometimes make for confusing reading, but the author seemed to keep them clear and well-defined.

This is an easy, fast read and I want to read more about Eve (Sharpe that is). 




read an excerpt...
It was well known that police officers, even those with seniority could, for disciplinary reasons, be temporarily assigned to other units. Usually someplace working with non-sworn civilians like personnel or records. Or, if you really screwed up, they’d stick you on stakeout. That’s what really bothered me. Sure, I’d always been a pain-in-the-ass, but lately, I’d been a good girl, not screwing up at all in the past couple of months. Well, maybe a month. Yet here I was, heading to a blisteringly cold stakeout at a South Side crack house instead of doing data entry at a nice warm records desk.


Poor Walt. Guilt by association probably did him in. He actually got the worst end of the deal. He’d be at the crack house until after three.

Every ten minutes, the all-news station, Magic 66, cheerfully announced what I had to look forward to:

‘Subzero temperatures have moved into the Chicago area and are expected to stay for the remainder of the week. Lake effect snow continues to hammer the south and east of the city and plows are trying to . . .’

Shit. I flicked off the radio and hunched over the steering wheel trying to see the road ahead. The smells of antifreeze and water steaming on the exhaust and burned oil coming up through the floorboards all served to remind me that a few months earlier, I’d wrecked my Buick in a snowstorm just like this one.

Insurance had repaired it instead of totaling the damn thing, so now it was more of a rolling wreck than ever. My ex-partner Clark kept telling me that since the accident it went down the road like a fiddler crab. Kind of sideways.

Crazies kept passing me and throwing salted slush over my windshield, and I finally chickened out and moved over to the slow lane behind a Safeway big rig. I found myself staring up at a huge T-bone steak, sun-faded to a light purple.

The off ramp was slick with black ice, and I took it at a crawl, easing into the neighborhood shown on Isaacson’s map. I slowed down even more, threading my way through the narrow streets. It was a ghost neighborhood where half the houses had been torn down and only half of what remained seemed to be occupied. Built after World War II, these were the homes our GI’s came home to in 1945. Now, they were homes for crack whores and junkies ready to die, teenagers ready to screw, and apparently, if Isaacson were correct, our drug lord. The target was a small single-story house, one of the few that didn’t have its windows boarded up.

I sat in my cramped little Buick, staring at it through a pair of binoculars. After an hour, I stuck a Santana cassette into the radio and poured a cup of squad room coffee. When my teeth began to chatter, I began to run the car fifteen minutes on and fifteen minutes off. Even at that, the car’s heater struggled against the cold, my breath fogged over the windows, and a plume of steam from the exhaust filled the air behind. After mopping at the windshield with a handful of napkins from Walt’s last trip to Mr. Moo’s Burger Shack, I sat watching the strings of red taillights headed south on the I-55.

About the Author




Thursday, January 9, 2020

Death in the Family

Crime Thriller
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Lanny Larcinese will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY.





Donny Lentini is a talented young man hungry for his mother's love. To please her, he becomes guardian angel to his mob-wannabe father. When the father is murdered and found with his hands hacked off, Donny is dealt a set of cards in a game called vengeance. The pot is stacked high with chips; the ante, his soul and the lives of loved-ones. With the help of friends—ex-con, defrocked Jesuit Bill Conlon along with former high-school nemesis, Antwyne Claxton—he digs for whether the murder had anything to do with the mob's lust for a real estate parcel owned by the family of Donny's lover. He's new at this game. He doesn't cheat, but plays his cards well. And he gets what he wants.


read an excerpt...

There is a purity to poker, moments of truth free of the ambiguity of motive or morals, moments philosophers never examine—clean moments—as when a Great White draws back its lips to embrace somebody’s neck with its four-inch serrated teeth—moments German Kruger never understood and might put his head at risk .

One by one I looked them in the eye. They all dropped except German, who raised and called. I flipped my hole cards. “Three cowboys.”

I raked in the seven hundred dollar pot. Any day I stuck a pencil in German’s eye was a good day. “What is it with you?” he said.  “You win four, five pots every Friday.”

Dad kicked my shin under There is a purity to poker, moments of truth free of the ambiguity of motive or morals, moments philosophers never examine—clean moments—as when a Great White draws back its lips to embrace somebody’s neck with its four-inch serrated teeth—moments German Kruger never understood and might put his head at risk .

One by one I looked them in the eye. They all dropped except German, who raised and called. I flipped my hole cards. “Three cowboys.”

I raked in the seven hundred dollar pot. Any day I stuck a pencil in German’s eye was a good day. “What  is it with you?” he said.  “You win four, five pots every Friday.”

Dad kicked my shin under the table. 

About Lanny Larcinese...

Does this book have a special meaning to you? i.e. where you found the idea, its symbolism, its meaning, who you dedicated it to, what made you want to write it?

I have a dear friend whose baby was adopted out many decades ago. As an adult, the child sought her out in order to reconnect. We did, and do, talk about it a lot. The provenance of Death in the Family began with a specific image of a talented young man involved in a high school ruckus, but taking a cue from my friend’s experience, I imbued my character with the burden of unrequited parental love and its effects on his thoughts, feelings, and actions as he seeks to fulfill it. Because I am a crime writer of the noir persuasion, I felt such a circumstance provided an overlay of motivation beyond the usual vengeance common to crime and cop stories (although, there is that.) Noir writing, perhaps all crime writing, is not in my opinion a device deployed to write a particular book, but is more like blues music—a constant state of mind and view of the world and how it works. So being of that mentality, coupled with my friend’s experience, my character Donny Lentini of Death in the Family brings those elements into convergence.

Where do you get your storylines from?
Unlike many authors who conceive a circumstance then create characters in service of it, I do the opposite. I first conceive a main character with a deficit, a need of some kind which may also imply a theme, then create plot events designed to explicate and dramatize those features. I hesitate to say my work is character driven (though it is) because that phrase usually attaches to “literary” writing, which means not much happens but there’s a lot going on. I am a genre writer, a crime writer, so of course I will have homicides, ghastly events, organized and other crime, femmes fatales, and many not-nice features of human beings. But theme is also important to me. My work is layered: of course a superficial plot in which things happen, but also relationship sub-plots and finally a theme usually dealing with notions of justice, morality, or perhaps fate. All of this is a constant infrastructure in my head, and it only takes a specific thought or image or circumstance to trigger a story.

Was this book easier or more difficult to write than others?  Why?
In one sense, this book was more difficult since it was the first novel I wrote after winning prizes for my short work. As a new novelist, I had much to learn, and the novel you see today has only the barest of bones from the one I initially wrote. But none are easy and if we are creative, our work should evolve—vs. writing the same story over and over. So in that latter sense, each book is as hard as the last in that we are trying new things. For example, Death in the Family sat in the drawer as I wrote other stories. Then, I wrote a memoir which revealed to me the charm of writing in the first person. When I revisited Death in the Family, I changed the entire book from third to first person. It’s published predecessor, I Detest All My Sins, is third person. I have since written shorter work using both fist and third in different passages.


Do you only write one genre?
My fiction tends to be crime-related, though not all equally in a hard-boiled voice. I have also written memoir and non-fiction.

Give us a picture of where you write, where you compose these words…is it Starbucks, a den, a garden…we want to know your inner sanctum?
I have a very nice home, one of those big 100 year old Arts & Crafts numbers very near the University of Pennsylvania. It is typical of places from that period that the first two floors are nicely constructed and appointed, while the two above are, well, “basic.” That’s where I write. My office is like Dan Hedaya’s chaotic desk in The Usual Suspects, when he remarked, “You should see my garage!” My organization is loose, meaning piles of papers (not stacked neatly but piles) on desks, in boxes, bins and on the floor.  I can live this way; I don’t have a wife. When I’m writing (even now) I need my total concentration and frankly don’t give a damn how things look as long as I can find the right adjective.

And finally, of course…was there any specific event or circumstance that made you want to be a writer?
Hey pal, I’m Italian, I have to write because nobody is around to watch me flail my arms and practically convulse trying to express myself. We invented opera. It’s a high bar.

Lanny Larcinese – Author
Death in the Family
I Detest All My Sins
Women: One Man’s Journey

Lanny Larcinese ‘s short work has appeared in magazines and has won a handful of local
prizes. He lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He’s a native mid-westerner transplanted to the City of Brotherly Love where he has been writing fiction for seven years. When not writing, he lets his daughter, Amanda, charm him out of his socks, and works at impressing Jackie, his long-time companion who keeps him honest and laughing—in addition to being his first-line writing critic. He also spends more time than he should on Facebook but feels suitably guilty for it.




a Rafflecopter giveaway













Wednesday, January 8, 2020

Amber Hollow

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Edgar Swamp will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY.





On July 15, 1991, an isolated village in Northern Wisconsin is ground zero for an unprecedented, fiery tragedy. Of the community's 600 residents, there are only five survivors. Detailed accounts by the victims contradict each other; the only link is a man named Anthony Guntram, but because he is presumed to be dead, this claim can't be verified. Further investigations reveal a culture enshrouded in mystery. What are the survivors hiding?

Only the villagers know the secret of Amber Hollow, a place where sanity is checked at the town line and the parameters of reality become blurred. An unconventional horror story by design, Edgar Swamp delivers an action-driven page-turner that will keep readers guessing until the calamitous ending.



read an excerpt...
“I’m not going back!” the woman screamed, her eyes rolling in terror. “You hear me? I’m never going back!”

“We understand,” Sadie said, approaching carefully from the opposite side of her partner, although her reply couldn’t have been farther from the truth. So far, she didn’t understand anything. However, she knew for certain that this woman’s passing wouldn’t do them a damn bit of good at getting to the truth. They needed to keep her still so she wouldn’t let go.

“We’re here to help you,” Jeremy said, “in fact, we were on our way to the hospital to visit you, to ask you some questions—”

“You have questions, you can ask Anthony Guntram! It’s his fault, all his fault!”

“I’m afraid we can’t do that, ma’am.” He gazed down, saw a police boat approaching from the mouth of the river. Good timing. “Please, let us help you. Take my hand.”

“I don’t want your help!” she screamed, and in her exertion one of her feet slipped and she almost fell, the only thing keeping her from plunging over the side was her grip on the cable, which apparently was pretty tight. “You can’t help me, no one can!”

“Let us try,” Jeremy begged.

“Never,” she croaked in a husky voice, and then she let go of the cable.

About the Author...

Does this book have a special meaning to you? i.e. where you found the idea, its symbolism, its meaning, who you dedicated it to, what made you want to write it?

This book has a very special meaning to me because it is one of the first times I ever came up with an idea in which I made sure I had a beginning, middle, and end before I wrote a single word. Just before writing this book, I had started and stopped three novels in one year, each for different reasons, but the biggest was that I couldn’t see where the stories would go, and why anyone would care once they got to the eventual conclusion. Once I had the story fully realized, I did choose to layer it with symbolism regarding current events and found a way to incorporate it seamlessly into the framework of the story. This story is dedicated to animal lovers; I am a member of ASPCA and am a monthly guardian (I donate every month). What really made me want to write this particular story is as an homage to my home state of Wisconsin; I’ve written several books but I’ve never written one that takes place there…oops, well, with the exception of my very first novel, but it was so bad that it doesn’t even deserve a passing mention, although I guess I just did!

Where do you get your storylines from?
Some of my best ideas have come straight from newspaper headlines. My first novel was inspired by reading a headline that said something like: “Garbage patch three times the size of Texas located five hundred miles off of the California coast.”  In an instant I had my idea: A group of people get stranded on an island of garbage and have to fight the mutant humans and animals in a struggle for survival. For “Amber Hollow,” I simply wanted to create an episode of mass hysteria that kills an entire village practically overnight, and the mystery throughout the book would be, “What the heck happened?” Initially, I wanted to make it an idea that was plausible in the real world, but when I couldn’t find one, I decided to make it a horror novel.

Was this book easier or more difficult to write than others?  Why?
This book was so thoroughly planned out that starting it wasn’t a problem…it was trying to find a hook to bridge everything together. Despite my claim that I had a beginning, middle, and an end, I really didn’t know how I was going to bring the creepy to the village I created, how I was going to develop the story for the readers so that I could slowly leak out the details until the reveal at the end. One Saturday, when I had a day off, I came up with an idea that came (like good ideas do) right out of nowhere, and I worked on it all day, came up with maybe 20 pages that became the reveal, and developed the idea of how to do it, what kind of motif, if you will. It is why I say that there are elements of fantasy in this novel because of the ideas that came out of that single day-long session. After I came up with that idea, the book got a whole lot easier, but there are always things you don’t plan on, so “easy” is a relative term.
  
Do you only write one genre?
I have self-published four novels in four different genres: horror, science-fiction, crime caper, and mystery. Because I am still working on garnering an audience, I can write in any genre I want because I don’t have a fan base to cater to! Unfortunately, that is what I am trying to do, so with each novel I was experimenting to see what people like. I’ve found that I’ve had the most interest in my horror novel and “Amber Hollow,” the mystery/horror/fantasy novel. I really enjoying writing comedy, too, and so every one of my books is infused with humor. I’ve always wanted to write a straight up comedy, but an editor I talked to at a writing convention in San Diego told me that humor is a very hard sell, and unless you are a professional comedian/TV host/etc. with a solid platform (an audience who already follows you) its easier to break into publishing with a mystery/horror/science-fiction/drama novel. Well, it hasn’t been easy, hence my decision to self-publish, but humor is lurking in all of my books!


Give us a picture of where you write, where you compose these words…is it Starbucks, a den, a garden…we want to know your inner sanctum?
I have a wonderful desk I bought at Home Depot that I put together myself, and a comfortable office chair I bought used for $20, in a spacious, comfy room with plenty of natural sunlight. However, because of my job, I am seldom there to use it! I do most of my writing away from home, so any quiet place is a perfect spot for me to write. “Amber Hollow” was written almost entirely anywhere except for my house, but I am not a coffee shop writer; I am too much of a people watcher to get any real work done in public except for at the library. So, where does this writing get done? I am a professional pet sitter, so I do it at all the houses I stay at. “Amber Hollow” was primarily written between three houses, two of which there are only cats (nice and quiet) and one with two cats and a dog who barks every time someone walks by the front door! He’s a good boy though, and he lets me get my work done as long as I take him for nice long walks.

 And finally, of course…was there any specific event or circumstance that made you want to be a writer?
I have always been a natural storyteller; I can’t simply tell someone, “Hey, I went to the store, and I saw this guy try to steal a cantaloupe…” I’d have to explain how I got to the store, and my mood at the time, and how many people were there, and what the guy was wearing, and how the store security dragged him out kicking and screaming… I can embellish anything to the point of ridiculous. That said, the first stories I ever wrote I recall writing them to try and gain someone’s favor, in one case the attention of a girl I liked. It didn’t work, but the seeds were sown, and I’ve been writing stories, novels, song lyrics, poems, essays, and rants and raves ever since!


This book is only $0.99 on Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/Amber-Hollow-Edgar-Swamp-ebook/dp/B07V9BT3JG/ 


Edgar Swamp is the author of the “Gyre Mission,” “Glitch in the Machine,” and “Blackout.” His short stories have appeared in Alienskin, Macabre Cadaver, and Urban Reinventors. When he isn’t holed up in his office playing online poker, he
likes to dig up the recently deceased and make furniture out of their skin. He lives and works in San Diego, California.

LINKS:




a Rafflecopter giveaway









Tuesday, January 7, 2020

On Ice



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Trisha Harley McCarthy will be awarding a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via Rafflecopter. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Zoe Simmons receives a text on her wedding day. Her fiancé called off the wedding. No explanation and he is soon traded to another hockey team, the Detroit Steels. She is devastated and has an emotional breakdown. After a few months she returns to her lonely life. Numb and withdrawn, she throws herself into her work as an assistant to general manager of the NHL team The San Jose Otters. Fast forward three years, The Otters are contenders for the Stanley Cup that include a shocking trade, Killian "Ki" Connery. The man who left her at the altar in humiliation and shame. Another blow comes when her father, Jed Simmons, negotiated the trade of her former fiancé without telling her. How will she be able to endure being around the man her heart yearns for but her mind rebels against? Not to mention the scandal that is about to break opening up her private life to further scrutiny by the media?

Killian "Ki" Connery

The woman he loves jilted him at the altar and he is banished to Detroit to play for The Steels. The former star and captain of The Otters is crushed by the betrayal of his love he's never gotten over. He survives through sheer will power and playing hockey while fighting the underlying demons plaguing him. Jesse Ward comes into his life and they become America's Sweethearts of the media. Little does Ki know the part Jesse played in his breakup with his true love Zoe.

This story will keep you on your toes with an intense love story, challenges, betrayal and overcoming the odds that love conquers all.

Another great angsty book by Trisha Harley McCarthy, author of the acclaimed Granite Bay Series.

Read an Excerpt

Ki smiled and closed the distance between us. The heat from his body sent shivers up my spine. He reached out and tucked a wayward piece of hair behind my ear. My knees went weak, and the lack of pouncing prowess was probably the only thing that kept me from throwing myself at him. I was sure he had lots of eager puck bunnies at his beck and call. All he had to do, was crook his finger, and they would come running. My gaze landed on his sensual lips, curved into a hint of a smile. I wondered what they would feel like against mine. He pulled back and the spell was broken.

“Would you consider going out with me sometime?” he asked.

Who—wha— ? I nodded mutely, shocked by the turn of events.

“Is that a yes, Zoe?” My name rolled off his tongue like fine wine—smooth and heady. Fire shot through my veins. Before I could stop myself, my mind was drifting in and out of fantasies involving me and that tongue of his.

“Yes, Ki, I’ll go out with you.” I blinked rapidly.

He pecked my cheek. “I’ll be in touch.”


About the Author:
Trisha Harley McCarthy is a certified Life Coach and prolific romance author specializing in fantasy, paranormal and contemporary genres.

Loving history, Trisha was captivated by being introduced to historical romance then became enamored with contemporary romance novels. Coming across fan-fiction and falling in love with the concept, Trisha began writing stories about characters in her favorite movie, Bridget Jones's Diary. After receiving several positive reviews, she caught the writing bug and published her first standalone novel, Just As He Is, A Romance in 2012 followed by the Astral Realm Series, Written Among the Stars and sequel Beneath the stars released in 2014.

In 2015, release of Dimensions, a paranormal romance novel featuring other world encounters takes the readers on a fantastic journey of ordinary collides with extraordinary. Also, in a new direction, Trisha also wrote Indescribably Blue. a fictional account based on Elvis Presley's death hoax conspiracy.

On a personal note, Trisha resides in Independence, Oregon with her husband Michael and their rescued chocolate lab, Elle. In her spare time, Trisha loves spending time on social media, travelling and reading her favorite authors!

Visit her Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/trishaharleymccarthy


Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Trisha-Harley-McCarthy/e/B00L6QYR7Y


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6607613.Trisha_Harley_McCarthy


Twitter: https://twitter.com/Authorthmccarth



On sale for only $0.99!
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hockey-Romance-Trisha-Harley-McCarthy-ebook/dp/B081XDPTH6/ref=sr_1_1

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/on-ice-a-hockey-romance-trisha-harley-mccarthy/1135541480
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/on-ice-a-hockey-romance






a Rafflecopter giveaway


Spent Identity







Annalisse Series, Book 2
Mystery/Suspense
A small amount of Romance 
(not the focal point of the story)
Date Published: 12-11-2019
Publisher: Ewephoric Publishing

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Antiquities appraiser Annalisse Drury drives to her family farm in upstate New York to consult with Aunt Kate about her troubled relationship with Greek tycoon, Alec Zavos. When Annalisse arrives, she learns the beloved farm she expects to inherit is for sale.

That same morning, they find a stranger’s body decaying in the barn. Then her aunt vanishes.

In Spent Identity, Annalisse and Alec join forces for the second time. They must find the mastermind behind her aunt’s abduction before Kate’s health issues worsen. Was the corpse in the barn a coincidence or a warning? The clock ticks for Annalisse to find her aunt and repair what she has left with the man she loves.


My Review
This is one of those books that if you’re not careful you’ll get nothing else done til you finish it. I’m not saying it has a deep and dark mysterious plot. It’s an enjoyable read and it has an easy reading flow. It is full of suspense and has the usual family secrets. The kind of secrets that help some and make others angry. It is not a romance, but it did have me hoping some people ended up together.

There were a couple of occurrences in this story that I did wonder how they came about or maybe I should say I didn’t know if it was believable that they could come about. Then again, I am a very black and white thinker, and this is after all...fiction. I’m not going to mention it here. It’s a story worth your reading time and I don’t want to ruin it for you. I will say my questions did not ruin the read for me at all.

Spent Identity is Book 2 of a series titled “Annalisse Series”. While there were a few references to Annalisse’s life before this book, I think this can easily be read as a stand-alone. Might not want to miss Book 1 though:) 




About the Author

Marlene M. Bell is an award-winning writer and acclaimed artist as well as a photographer. Her sheep landscapes grace the covers of Sheep!, The Shepherd, Ranch & Rural Living, and Sheep Industry News, to name a few. SPENT IDENTITY is the second book in the Annalisse Series.

Her catalog venture, Ewephoric, began in 1985 out of her desire to locate personalized sheep stationery. She rarely found sheep products through catalogs and set out to design them herself. Ewephoric gifts online can be found at https://www.TexasSheep.com. Her books at: https://www.marlenembell.com

Marlene and her husband, Gregg, reside in beautiful East Texas on a wooded ranch with their dreadfully spoiled horned Dorset sheep, a large Maremma guard dog named Tia, along with Hollywood, Leo, and Squeaks, the cats that believe they rule the household—and do.

Contact Links

Twitter: @ewephoric


Purchase Links




RABT Book Tours & PR

Monday, January 6, 2020

the billionaire's board



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Lark Anderson will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to three randomly drawn winners via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.




When Remi Stone is promoted to director at Icor Tech by the INSANELY HOT, chiseled, PERFECT 10 CEO, the last thing she expected was for chaos to ensue. Boy—she should have been more prepared.

Who would have ever thought that being 23.7 hours early for a meeting would ever lead to a series of life-changing events that would see me influencing the course of a billion-dollar corporation—but I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s go back to the day AFTER my time-anxiety induced early bird mishap.

You see, I went into Icor Tech’s boardroom to present at the quarterly ‘Innovation Meeting,’ completely unprepared for all the enemies I was about to make. The board itself—and all the directors!

But that’s exactly what happened when the handsome, aloof, BILLIONAIRE CEO, Gabriel Icor himself, promoted me to director at 23 with NO FLIPPING WARNING!

Now, I have a bunch of seasoned board members thinking I’m an ‘upstart’ mouse. A bunch of employees angry their careers plateaued well before mine. And two insanely hot, crazy-successful, competitive, and ever charming businessmen courting me.

Oh, and get this—I’ve never so much as been on a date before.

What’s a girl to do? Well, I’ll tell you one thing that’s never advisable...

Accidentally blurting out you’re not wearing panties.


Read an Excerpt

This is exactly what they expect from a millennial. Shitty work ethics, entitlement, living in my parent’s basement. None of those traits fit me, but the room full of grey hairs I’m about to brief don’t know that. They don’t know that I tested out of high school at fifteen, received my Bachelor’s in Engineering at Cornell by nineteen, and my Masters by the time I was twenty-two. They just see a young, fair-haired woman and assumed I got my job because of who I know or some affirmative action bullshit.

Kibbles! I can’t forget to feed Kibbles, the aging cat my dearly departed grandmother left to me.

The cat hates me, looking for any reason to shred my bedding and furniture. She’s possessed, more than likely by my dear dead grandma, who was never very happy no matter how much I called, visited, or wrote. Not that she ever really wanted to see me, but she sure did like the checks I was writing for her. I swear, she left me Kibbles just to spite me.

It isn’t enough to leave one bowl of food out. Kibbles demands three, placed strategically around the apartment, filled to capacity. If the kibble level so much as lowers by half an inch, Kibbles goes into an angry panic. She dug up every single plant one day and shredded my shower curtain on another. The last thing I need is another Kibbles meltdown.

Oh, wonderful, the cat’s glaring at me. Don’t panic. It’s not a big deal. It’s just a cat.

Just a cat. Ha! That’s like saying, ‘Oh, it’s just Satan, Lord of the Underworld.’

Pull yourself together, Remi. You’re facing the board and a room full of directors today. Don’t blow this!



About the Author:
Lark Anderson was raised near Syracuse, New York. She joined the USAF at 19 as a Flight Manager and eventually discharged in pursuit of a college degree, eventually achieving her MBA.

Since her years in the Air Force, she has worked as a Claims Manager, a Business Analyst, an Editor, and a Web Page Designer, filling several roles, such as Fraud Investigator, Auditor, Graphic Designer, and Marketer.

Lark’s passion for writing manifested in elementary school, but she waited until she was in her 20’s to pursue her passion. Now, she writes and assists other authors in fulfilling their dreams full time.

Lark's interests are broad. She likes her fantasy dark and her romance steamy! She plays Magic: the Gathering and LOVES going to cons and interacting with fellow geeks.

Currently, she is writing contemporary romance and is in contract negotiation to develop a sitcom she has been working on.



Twitter: https://twitter.com/mims_words

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lark_anderson

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mimsthewords/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LarkAndersonAuthor/

Webpage: https://larkandersonbooks.net

Link to subscribe to Newsletter: https://larkandersonbooks.net/subscribe/

Amazon Author Central: https://www.amazon.com/Lark-Anderson/e/B07VVMCXCP?



The book is on sale for $0.99.



Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07ZQMYKC9





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, January 5, 2020

Once upon a time bitches

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Branden Lanette will be awarding a $50 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY.




That’s Branden on the cover. Yes, she has a boy’s name, a Mom bod, and her tattoos are not photoshopped. She doesn’t look like your typical author and she sure doesn’t look like the next self-help Instagram sweetheart. 

However, besides being a wife, mom to six kids (plus others with fur), coach and business owner, Branden is the author of the new book, Once Upon a Time, Bitches. It’s a fast paced, in your face, expletive laced, nothing held back message to women everywhere: There is no magic fairytale, but if YOU work at it enough you can come pretty close to creating your version with a happily ever after. 

But first, no more whining and no more damsel locked in a tower, bullsh*t. Is it possible to design a fairytale life? Control your destiny? Be the hero in your story? Branden thinks there is and she wants to help you.


My Review
Branden and I didn’t have the same upbringing, yet we turned out very much alike. Learning to make our way, handling the hurts and learning to celebrate the good things. Basically realizing we could manage our own destiny. The difference is I was always told I could manage my own destiny no matter how hard things were to handle and Branden had to learn it. Learn it definitely from the school of hard knocks.

I think this book is a great read for many types of people. It is just a plain good read for some, and it will be of great help to others. Is it written in the mode of all of the perfect rules you learn in writing class? No, it isn’t. But I don’t think that’s the point here. It’s written clearly, openly, raw with someone’s true feeling and well enough to make you feel it too. There are a lot of good lessons here. They may not always be said in a verbiage that you want to hear but keep an open mind and read on. It’s worth the time.

If the language isn’t something you can abide, then you need a different book. Everybody has their own thing.


Read an excerpt...

By saying adios to the man who’d refused to be a fifty-fifty partner in our relationship and support my goals and dreams as well as his own, I created what science calls a vacuum—not the Hoover-kind, of course, but the science-kind: a space, an emptiness, a void. (Who says you’ll never use the stuff you learned in school?)

Until I’d left, with my life as crazy as it was, engulphed in the plethora of problems I’d created for myself, there was no room for solutions. No room for help. No room for a prince.

I was like one of those motels you pass on the highway at night, with my neon vacancy light burning brightly like a beacon in darkness. I’d created a vacancy.

I’d made room for a Prince Charming to arrive and from my lips to God’s ear, that’s exactly what happened.

That said, I can guarantee you this: The chances of solutions showing up for any problem you might have in your life are greatly reduced if you don’t make room for them.

But if you do make room for them, you’ll find that my 11th grade science teacher was right: Nature really does abhor a vacuum.

It’s important to realize it’s not Prince Charming’s job to come and save you—it’s your job to be worthy of being saved. Someone who doesn’t even need to be saved.

Ironic, huh?

Becoming a person who doesn’t need saving—being someone capable of saving themselves—is what draws your prince into your life. And not just a prince, but the right prince. Back to Cinderella.

If there ever was a strong-ass bitch who didn’t need saving, it was Cinderella. Yes, her circumstances sucked. And if it were me in that situation, I might have tossed that evil-ass stepmother in the f-ing fire (and the whiny-ass sisters, too). But she’s a better person than I am. Better than most of us.

Cinderella not only took their sh*t, she did it with grace and remained kind to others in spite of the daily cruelty being dished on her. Maybe that’s why she got saved, huh?

Because even though she clearly was a victim, she never acted like one. She kept her chiseled little chin held high. She didn’t beg to be saved. She was simply someone who was worthy of being saved.

ABOUT BRANDEN LaNETTE...

Branden LaNette doesn’t look like a typical author but she has long ignored what she “should” do, say and look like. On her own at a very young age, Branden eventually found herself with the wrong guy, the wrong job, and a bleak future. The fairytale she was promised as a child never materialized.
Finally, Branden decided that she wanted something different for her life, and
realized no one was going to do it for her. Prince charming wasn’t coming to save her—she’d have to save herself.

Step by step, decision by decision, through major trials and tribulations that would stop most people in their tracks, Branden learned how to turn heartbreak into happiness and self-judgement into inner joy.
Today, Branden LaNette is an entrepreneur, coach, speaker, wife, and stay-at-home Mom to six C-section babies (ages 1-16) and way too many f-ing pets. Somehow, however, she manages to juggle all of this effortlessly (a blatant lie) while pushing her way through the kinds of fear and self-doubts that whisper within all of us (totally true) to achieve her goals. Her most recent dream come true is this book, one that is destined to have a major impact on millions of women across the globe (or at least nine people in Michigan.)
Through it all, she has found her happiness, her joy, and more importantly, her voice. 
Contact Info:


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Branden.Lanette



Hashtags: #OnceUponaTimeBitches #OUATB

Fairytale/dp/1947814869/

a Rafflecopter giveaway