Saturday, April 4, 2020

Serial Caller

Audiobook Series Blog Tour: Scarlet Oaks Mystery Series by Michaela James


Author: Michaela James

Narrator: Kimberly M. Wetherell

Length: 10 hours 25 minutes

Series: Scarlet Oaks Cozy Mystery Series, Book 1

Publisher: LW Media Group Ltd.

Released: Nov. 9, 2019

Genre: Cozy Mystery




Is it possible Scarlet Oaks, the reluctant new host of a men’s call-in show, inspired the first serial killer San Francisco’s seen in some 40 years?

Struggling to pay the rent after her boyfriend’s sudden departure, continue her role as mediator in an unconventional family, and feed a micro pig who appears less micro by the day, Scarlet’s life is far from perfect. But when an eerie sounding caller is identified as the bay area’s latest serial killer, it appears her life will never be the same.

With the killer continually calling into Scarlet’s show, while managing to stay one step ahead of the San Francisco police, Scarlet begins to fear she’s his next victim. Enlisting best friends Niles and Tom and their often-hilarious help, Scarlet sets out to find the elusive Serial Caller...before he finds her.

Root for Scarlet during this heart-pounding and alternately humorous mystery thriller. Fall in love with unforgettable characters, recognize familiar family members, and hold on tight for an adrenaline-filled ride.

If you’re a Stephanie Plum fan, make room for Scarlet Oaks!

This is the first book in the Scarlet Oaks series.


Check out the audio CLICK HERE






Michaela lives near Reno, Nevada, where there are lovely walking trails and lots of sun. She was born and grew up in Hampshire, England, where there is less sun, but better chocolate! A professional voice over artist and the voice of a local radio station, Michaela enjoys watching great movies with her husband and grown sons, playing tennis and and drinking lots of tea.
WebsiteTwitterFacebookInstagram
Narrator Bio



A bright, versatile, broad-next-door type, Kimberly M. Wetherell is rapidly becoming a sought-after talent in the voiceover market, specializing in audiobooks, commercials, and animation.

Kimberly has worn multiple hats in the entertainment industry for over 30 years. A graduate of The Theatre School at DePaul University, Kimberly has been an actor, a singer of musical theatre, director of both opera and film, and producer of opera, film, and most recently, commercials.

She speaks French, Italian, and German (all thanks to her 15-year career in opera), and, as a lifelong lover of language, has a large catalogue of dialects and accents from around the world at the tip of her tongue.

Equally active in the literary world, Kimberly is a published essayist and contributing editor of The Nervous Breakdown. She founded and hosted DISH, a monthly food & drink reading series at SoHo’s Housing Works Bookstore Cafe, as well as having hosted other reading series around NYC, such as NPR’s Dime Stories at Brooklyn’s Barbès and TNB’s Literary Experience at Chinatown’s Happy Endings.

Voiceover artistry is the perfect marriage of her life’s two passions, and she couldn’t be happier with this new career pursuit.
TwitterFacebookInstagram

This is just a fun, enjoyable story. It has everything a cozy should have. A little suspense, fun characters, and of course a little romance.

I thought the idea of a call-in radio show program was really unique and this type scenario left lots of twists and turns to develop a good plot. There were just a few places I lost that wonderful flow of reading.  Reading is like music to me and when there is a sort of blip or a place you have to stop and take a breath you lose your audience. I’m not sure if that was the construction of the sentences or the inflection of the narrator. Nonetheless, this didn’t happen very often to me and it did not take away from this story.


Serial Caller is Book 1 in a series titled Scarlet Oaks Cozy Mystery Series. The series has really good reviews. Check it out.


I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Michaela James. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.


Scarlet Oaks
  • Mid-twenties, long dark brown hair, green eyes, 5’ 6”, slim build.
  • Kind, funny, bubbly but not overly confident
  • Blessed with good looks, but works on her inner self rather than rely on her outer appearance
  • On-air radio personality
  • Grew up in Aptos, California; moved to SF due to more opportunities; lives on Upper Terrace in SF; drives a Pepper White MINI convertible
  • Has a pet micro-pig named Prudence
  • Degree in Business
  • Middle child with older sister and younger brother; parents divorced, close to grandmother who also lives in SF
  • Prior to meeting James, has not had a healthy or loving relationship
Niles Remmy
  • Fair-skinned, reddish-blonde hair, light blue eyes, 5’ 10”, slim build
  • Very intelligent, loyal, kind, self-deprecating
  • Degree in Finance, stock broker
Tom Blythe
  • Dark hair, brown eyes, 6’ 2”, athletic build
  • Part of team of engineers installing pipelines to get water to third world countries
  • Intelligent, funny, loves to be silly, ready for anything
  • Niles and Tom are life partners and Scarlet’s best friends
James Attwood
  • Blond wavy hair, blue eyes, 6’ 3” athletic build
  • Shy, polite, kind, non-judgmental
  • Works with Niles also as a Stock Broker
  • Difficult childhood; dad left when he was young and mother died when he was twenty; close to both of his sisters

Q&A with Protagonist Scarlet Oaks
  • Why did you choose the radio business?
    • I chose a job where I can hide a bit because I was forced in front of the camera as a child
  • How did you end up with a pig as a pet?
    • My ex-boyfriend and I saw a post of a cute micro-pig wearing a tutu on Facebook. We fell in love with the idea of a pet micro-pig and my then-boyfriend surprised me one not long after.
  • How did you come to host a men’s call-in show?
    • It absolutely was not my idea. The radio business is precarious. My boss gave the Top Forty show to his new girlfriend, which left me with a men’s sports call-in show or nothing. I then morphed it more to my style and into Mending Men.
  • How did you and Niles become such good friends?
    • Niles was a colleague of my ex-boyfriend, Max, and helped me out one night when Max sprung a group of people on me and expected refreshments. Niles showed me how to produce something out of nothing and we had a great time doing it. Max, too self-absorbed to see Niles’ sexual orientation, became jealous and an awkward-feeling Niles left the house. But not before giving me his number. From that moment on we were pretty much inseparable.
  • How did you meet James?
    • It was at my coming out party, as Tom called it. Tom was determined to fix me up with a nice man after Max left me for a female colleague. He arranged a party at his and Niles’ home and awkwardly forgot to invite any women, so I was the only female amongst fifty men. James and I chatted in the library, but I confess I was paying more attention to a conversation just feet away. Some of Niles’ friends were discussing how Max had left the woman he left me for. Instead of living in the moment and getting to know this lovely man in front of me, I naively believed Max would come back to me. Thankfully, James and I had agreed on a time and day to see each other for our first date. It was disastrous, but James, bless him, wasn’t deterred by Police and a serial killer!!
Music Playlist



https://open.spotify.com/playlist/5FVsnLR3FOsOaedoWB751O

Giveaway
Giveaway: $50 Amazon Gift Card
The Scarlet Oaks Mystery Series Giveaway: $50 Amazon Gift Card



View the full 14-day schedule here

Plugging you into the audio community since 2016.
Sign up as a tour host here.

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Dog Town




This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Debbie L. Richardson will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Middle Grade Fiction
Harry loves to race around the streets of Dog Town. When he stumbles upon the lost city of cats, he finds himself in a race against Dog Town’s fastest canine, Grizzly.
The winner of this race will have the power to save Cat World, or destroy it.

Harry wants to win, but there is one small problem. The race is in the ocean, and Harry is terribly afraid of water.

Can Harry overcome his fear of the water and save Cat Town?



Read an Excerpt

HARRY snapped himself out of the trance.

“Run!” he yelled, and every dog did exactly that.

But they took off in a disorderly fashion, like a handful of wound-up toys had been released onto a slippery surface.

Kevin started running first, but he became caught up in chasing his tail. He twirled and twirled, creating a mini tornado.

Teena barked so violently she propelled herself backwards. She only managed to stop when she bumped up against a six-foot-high stack of hubcaps. The metal discs came hurtling toward the dogs at an alarming speed.

Harry saw Teena jump out of the way. Then she reached for Pablo’s collar. She tugged and tugged, but her brother’s feet might as well have been concreted to the ground.

“Pablo!” Harry urged. He cried out again, more urgently this time. “Pablo! Run!”

Pablo stared at the big dogs as though he was hypnotised.

“Pablo!” Teena cried, pulling harder on his collar.

By now, Kevin’s mini tornado had taken on a life of its own. Wispy tendrils clutched madly at anything in reach, but they grasped only air. Seemingly angered by this, the vortex pulled itself into the shape of a bowling ball and made a beeline for Pablo and Teena.


About the Author: 
Debbie L. Richardson has published fiction novels as D L Richardson. She has published three young adults supernatural fiction novels, and science fiction and supernatural thrillers for adults. This is her first children’s book.

She was born in Dublin, Ireland and grew up in Australia. It was always crowded and noisy in the family home. At one stage there were also three dogs, a cat, a budgie, and three mice living with seven people the same house.

Debbie learned to find a quiet space within books.

She now lives in the south coast of New South Wales with her husband and a small dog named Teeka.



Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DogTownKidsbook


Website: http://www.dlrichardson.com



Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Dog-Town-Debbie-L-Richardson-ebook/dp/B085466GS7/ref=sr_1_1

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dog-town-debbie-richardson/1136477371

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/1005300




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Lumina

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions

Paddy Tyrrell will be awarding a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour

See below to sign up for the Giveaway


A generation designed by sorcery to destroy your people. Two races mired in conflict. Can a pair of outcasts unite them against an enemy who would enslave them all?

The birth of ‘bronzite’ babies in Lumina heralds the onset of war. The people take fright at the golden children and banish them from the land. A dangerous move. King Zheldar, commander of the black dragon, is attacking Luman borders. If he wins bronzite support for his army of monsters, Lumina is lost.

Davron Berates cannot share his people’s hatred of the children and, on discovering he has a bronzite brother, sets out to find him. At his side travels Chrystala. A bronzite, she has twice his strength and three times his determination.

When the black dragon kidnaps Chrystala, Davron is faced with a terrible choice: save his friend or save his nation.

read an excerpt...

“We go.” Teibera padded to the mouth of the cave. “Meet cubs.”


He raised his head, ears back, closed his eyes and howled a message into the hills. Two white shapes flashed in the distance. The first to arrive shuddered to a halt on sight of the stranger. He was larger than she had ever imagined a wolf could be. Tall and strong, he panted from the race and sized her up with eyes of chestnut brown. His nose twitched to catch her scent.

“Ice, eldest son.”

With a flurry of leaves, a second snow-wolf appeared. Salazai’s heart stopped.

“Wow, you’re beautiful,” she whispered.

“Smallest daughter, Sapphire,” Teibera said proudly. Amber eyes, tipped with snow-white lashes, stared at Salazai. The young wolf’s face was as delicate as the seed puffs that floated in the air around her, her nose black and shiny with health. Her fur was white, only the ears laced with a fringe of gray.

She stared at Salazai and asked, “Our pack?” Salazai glanced at Teibera, who gave a short bark of acknowledgement.

“Yes, Sapphire, your pack,” Salazai said.

The snow-wolf padded forward and licked her legs. Salazai put out her hand, and Sapphire held it gently between her jaws. Salazai stayed calm. It seemed easy to give this animal the trust she begrudged her own people. The wolf released her hand, sniffed her clothes, and licked her face. With her finger, Salazai touched a mark that hung like a black teardrop beneath the snow-wolf‘s eye.

Teibera barked. “Sapphire small, pack rough. Teach fight. Heart of lion.” 

about Paddy Tyrrell...
I was raised in Kent, the garden of England, and lived in an Oast House whose round rooms were once used for drying hops. Must be why I’ve enjoyed a drink ever since!

At university, I fell in love with medieval French writing, discovered The Gormenghast Trilogy, and became hooked on fantasy.

I have sailed down the Yangste, survived an earthquake in Cairo, and picnicked in the Serengeti. My travels for work and pleasure have inspired my fantasy world. I now live in France with a naughty Australian Labradoodle, a jealous cat and a squash mad husband. Our two huskies, Ice and Sapphire, are sadly now gone but are transformed into wolves and immortalised in my book. Lumina is my debut novel and the first in a trilogy.




The book is $0.99.


Personal "stuff" about Paddy...

Does this book have a special meaning to you? i.e. where you found the idea, its symbolism, its meaning, who you dedicated it to, what made you want to write it?
This is my debut novel and so very special to me. I had wanted to write a fantasy book since childhood but the need for it to be perfect blocked me from making the attempt for many years. Finally I realized I didn’t have to discover the meaning of life and it was OK to write an adventure story that readers would enjoy – in fact the sort of story I enjoyed.  
Fantasy writing had appealed ever since I followed a course on mediaeval French literature. The writers at that time were the first to write in a normal language rather than in Latin. They loved fantasy and all their ideas and images were so fresh and new. When I later read my first modern fantasy, The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake, I was entranced and decided to write a fantasy myself one day. The richness of the writing and images, as well as the escapism involved in entering the fantasy world, were all part of the attraction.
Where do you get your storylines from?
I had in mind that I wanted to portray two contrasting societies. One, Lumina itself, is sophisticated and civilised, governed by reason not magic; the other, Kuhla, is brutal, barbaric and controlled through tyranny and sorcery. That gave me a context for the story.
I also wanted to address racial prejudice. The idea for the bronzites came when I was walking with my husband and our two huskies. There was a pond near us and waterways criss-crossing the land and, with all that water, came dragonflies.  In Lumina they are transformed into dragonlites who clean the dragon’s scales. The magic of a sorcerer leads the dragonlites to bite and inject pregnant women and so create the bronzite race.
Although I start with a rough outline of the plot so I know where the story is heading, who the main characters are, and how I would like it to finish, the major storylines are developed out of the conflict and obstacles the characters face and how they overcome them.  That again depends to some extent on the skills or weapons they possess and the nature of the threat. I get inspiration for some of these from five different main sources.
Firstly, nature. For example, we lived in the midst of French marshlands with canals covered in a green algae. In places, methane gas would bubble up. These friendly waterways became the dreaded Maugraine Swamp with gas that could kill and slitherns lurking beneath the surface.
Secondly, animals. One of the key protagonists, Salazai, can commune with animals. Our two Siberian huskies transformed into the two snow-wolf cubs, Ice and Sapphire, who fight alongside Salazai in the battle with the Kuhlans.
Third comes memories, particularly from travelling around the world for my job. A banquet in Cairo inspired the parade of 500 waiters at the queen’s birthday celebrations, when the Kuhlan king gives her the kidnapped bronzite, Chrystala, as his present.
Next there is research. I was struggling to imagine the demon’s temple in the desert and wanted a dragon involved. By researching I discovered a serpent eating its own tail signifies infinity and the cycle of birth and death. That led to this description:
‘An immense rock formation dominated the horizon. It was shaped like a sleeping dragon, body curled in an elongated circle, great spines exploding from its back, their jagged edges following the swollen curve of its body to the sinuous snaking of its tail. At its forked end, the tail was held between the dragon’s gaping jaws. Two towering figures loomed beneath, demons carved from black stone. They guarded the entrance to the Temple of Irithnos, consecrated to Rach, ruler of all demons, and guardian of the Dragon King.‘
One of the most important sources of inspiration is of course people. When I need to be nasty I think of bad bosses I’ve had and the sort of things they would rage about when in a temper.
Was this book easier or more difficult to write than others?  Why?
Since Lumina was my first novel, I suspect it is the hardest book I will ever have to write. That’s because it was such a journey of discovery. For example, what pace to aim for – how to give  the reader enough adventure versus pauses to recuperate, or how to balance description with action.  I loved finding out how to interweave the growth of the characters with the development of the plot, or how to write a battle scene, or portray multiple points of view. I did this sometimes through experimentation, sometimes based on critiques from other authors, and sometimes after reading advice from authors in their blogs.
Do you only write one genre?
Although I love to read thrillers and crime novels, I don’t want to write one. So at the moment fantasy is the only genre. However, I am a great fan of  Eleanor of Aquitaine (she married the French king, then the English king, and gave birth to both Richard the Lionheart and King John. She also introduced chivalry and courtly love to England, transforming knights from thugs to noble heroes!). So I have started  a novel based on her life.
Give us a picture of where you write, where you compose these words…is it Starbucks, a den, a garden…we want to know your inner sanctum?
One of the rooms in our house has become an office and I use this and my computer in the winter. Against one wall is a book case that took my husband three days to assemble from a pack! There is a big comfy leather armchair by the window which a friend gave me when they moved back to England, and a TV to help me procrastinate! Our latest acquisition is a tall wooden piece of furniture for filing which has loads of slots I can use and which we found via our local ebay.
In summer I like to use a veranda next to the kitchen and here I have to write longhand. There are vines and grapes twining around the roof, and geraniums along one low wall. It looks out on one side to the garden, with wisteria and a fish pond, and on the other side, over woods, a river and the valley.
And finally, of course…was there any specific event or circumstance that made you want to be a writer?
It happened when I was very young. My sister, who was older by a year, had difficulty falling to sleep and I started inventing stories about princesses and princes to help her relax and drift off. That was the beginning of my wish to write some day. Throughout my childhood I loved reading and would bury myself in a book whenever I got the chance. The desire to give the same pleasure to others grew and grew over the years.

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Monday, March 30, 2020

Paragon



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Shauna Alderson will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stopson the tour.



Now that high school is over, Randi just wants to live her quiet life in her little town, but it doesn’t feel right without her friends there. Ever the daredevils, they’ve gone to seek adventure in the capital city of Grandin, and Randi can’t help but feel left behind. Not to mention she definitely can’t stop thinking about that kiss she and Eddy shared before he left.



When Randi discovers a mysterious mark on her skin that matches an illustration in “A Handbook on Paragonhood”, she’s thrown into a world of powerful gods and ancient magic that she thought only existed in the myths. She’ll have to step out of her comfort zone—and into the dangerous streets of Grandin—to find a way to protect herself and the people she loves.



Randi’s not the only one with a secret, though, and she finds herself questioning who she can trust. Randi will have to wrestle with what it means to be a Paragon and how far she’s willing to go to do what’s right.



With the fate of the world on the line, can she live up to being one of the chosen?


Read an Excerpt


Louis comes into view as I round the corner of the restaurant into the simple, well-kept yard. He's facing the other way, holding a wooden staff, not even wearing a coat. I'm about to call out and let him know I'm there, but before I can, he spins in a circle, extending the stick as gracefully as if it were a part of his arm. His movements are soft and flowing as he twists around a large cobbled circle in the middle of the yard. It looks like a gentle dance, but it's evident from the way he maneuvers the stick and guards his torso that it's also a fight.



Louis comes back to a neutral position and bows to an invisible adversary before him. “That was the swan,” he says, making me jump. “And this is the dragon.”



He steps aggressively, each strike hard and fierce. He jabs the staff out before him and twirls, nearly horizontal with it. A few stances later, he accidentally whacks himself in the shoulder with the practice weapon.



He bursts out laughing. “It’s not my best form.” He approaches me while massaging his shoulder. “Good thing you’re not my grandma, or you’d make me practice until I got it right.”



“I like the swan better, anyway.”



“Me too.” He blinks as a raindrop falls on his cheek. We both turn to the sky as thunder rumbles in the distance. “Looks like it’ll be a downpour.”



About the AuthorShauna Alderson began writing teen fantasy even before she was a teen. After she “grew up", she completed creative writing courses (and a BA in Development Studies) at the University of Calgary. When not reading or writing, she can usually be found teaching ESL, composing on the piano, creating art, or volunteering abroad. She also enjoys dessert, Studio Ghibli films, and being the silliest person she knows.




Website: https://shaunaalderson.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/AldersonShauna




Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Paragon-Shauna-Alderson-ebook/dp/B0851YGGTW/

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/paragon-shauna-alderson/1136514085?ean=9781643901275

Chapters: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/paragon/9990058018816-item.html

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/paragon-8




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Double Blind





Mystery Thriller
Date Published: March 31, 2020
Publisher: Anchor House Publishing

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

A young boy disappears in the chill of North Iceland. Twenty years later, a mysterious poem lands on the desk of his twin sister Brynja, a forensic geneticist, and rekindles her hopes that her brother might be alive. As Brynja unravels the clues, more poems arrive, each bearing dire consequences for those who receive them: the guard of the medieval manuscript of Icelandic sagas that possibly has the answer to her burning question, the prime minister’s secretary, the local pastor.

Is the poet out to stop Brynja from finding her brother and shut down her access to the DNA database? Or is the verse maker simply a psychopath copycat killer?

Fighting the visual auras that have plagued her since childhood and now threaten everything she holds dear, Brynja must summon the strength to navigate the twisted labyrinth of the poet’s mind and confront the dark secret buried in her family’s past.

DOUBLE BLIND is a wild ride through the cultural landscape of Iceland, from rural farmsteads to icy fjords to the high-tech world of DNA forensics. This crime thriller packed with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end.




About the Author




Sara Winokur is a geneticist and researcher who reinvented herself as an author. She writes historical fiction and cultural thrillers hoping to inform readers while they’re being entertained. 

Sara has a Masters in Cytogenetics for cancer diagnosis and a Ph.D. for her work on Muscular Dystrophy, identifying mutations that cause disease. She is also a consultant at the University of California and an Associate Researcher at the Biological Chemistry School of Medicine at Irvine. She was part of the team that found the genes associated with Dwarfism and Huntington’s Disease.

Contact Links



Purchase Link




RABT Book Tours & PR

Sunday, March 29, 2020

Feed Your Reader



Is the news getting you down? Are you staying away from people to try to stay healthy? Are you looking for things to help you beat cabin fever?



Let us help you!!!









Here's a great way to fill up your eReader and save money, too!



We have all the subgenres of romance: contemporary, historical, erotic, romantic suspense, scifi and fantasy romance, paranormal romance... along with many many other genres... check them out to see if you find something that tickles your fancy!



Click on this link: http://www.goddessfish.com/promo/feed-your-reader-bargain-books/ to find books in your favorite genres that are currently only $0.99 or maybe even FREE and feed your reader!!!



OR
Go directly to your favorite genre:


Contemporary Romance (erotic and non-erotic)



Historical Romance (erotic and non-erotic)



Science Fiction or Fantasy Romance (erotic and non-erotic)



Romantic Suspense (erotic and non-erotic)



LGBTQ Romance (erotic and non-erotic)



Women's Fiction/Chick Lit



Non-romance Mystery/Suspense/Thriller/Horror



Non-romance Historical Fiction



Non-romance Science Fiction or Fantasy



Literary Fiction/Contemporary Mainstream Fiction



Non-Fiction


There's also a chance for you to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC - check out the Rafflecopter at the end of the post.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 26, 2020

Love, Lies and Bad Guys

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions

Bill Blodgett  will be awarding a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour

See below to sign up for the Giveaway



When US Marshal Jay Stonewalker sees a possible terrorist comment in a chatroom frequented by anti-government radicals suggesting a nuclear threat to New York City, specifically the Waldorf Astoria Hotel, he can’t get it out of his mind. Against his boss’s orders he heads off to NYC to investigate on his own time. While there he follows a suspicious character into a secluded recess of the New York Subway system and foils what he believes is the terrorist event.  In a shoot-out with his suspect he’s wounded and calls the NYC PD for backup.  When he sees NYPD Detective KC Daviau and other uniformed officers slipping into the darkness from the subway platform he’s relieved, but to his surprise he’s met with resistance and disrespect by Detective Daviau. Against his objections, KC takes custody of the evidence and leaves the scene. When Jay asks an officer if she is always that way he’s told that, “Since her parents died, she’s been… let’s say… a little cold.”   When they are assigned to work the case together,  KC’s icy exterior soon begins to melt away as they begin to fall for each other, but KC has to hold back. She has a dark secret and knows he can’t ever know her truths because if he did he would hate her just as she hates herself for what she’s about to do.

 
my review...
Really and truly fun. A U.S. Marshal and a NY cop try to team together and yet there’s a little territory competition type struggle going on.  Sometimes we all make decisions that seem the right thing to do at the time but later begin to wonder what we’re doing. That’s the case with KC. At the time it seemed so important. Then along comes Jay, a good cop; one who operates on gut instinct.


The title of this book is 100% the story of this book. There really are bad guys and good guys and plenty of lies. There is fortunately only a teensy amount of love & sex. The romance genre is not my thing. Bill Blodgett wrote a story so good that putting up with a little love was worth it. Heck, we all fall in love sometimes.

These are really well-defined characters, even the smaller roles gave you a picture, not just the main characters. I liked that the story was really based on modern issues. Some of the authors “lies” were what kept a lot of tension in the story. I found myself thinking “come on, come on” but it wasn’t the author slowing down the story; it was the author writing so well to create that tautness that you’re on the edge of your seat. You know, the kind where you can’t scan for the chance of missing something, but you also are trying to read as fast as you can.

Well, that’s this book. If you want a good ride...read it.

Bill Blodgett has several other books published. All with good reviews.



read an excerpt...

 “I was surprised to see you had body art.”

“It isn’t body art. It is my belief. I guess that’s why I don’t show them.  It’s personal. They are of my Goddess, Mother Earth and the symbol of our tribe, the mighty eagle. The Mother Earth Tree Goddess demonstrates the circle of life. Where all things on land, air and water are connected. They are all one. If one element is removed, the tree will wither and die. We believe that it is the same for people. We must be as one or we will all eventually suffer. The Eagle is our symbol for bravery, something that is essential to take on such a derêp.” He saw her puzzled look and continued before she could speak. “Derêp is our word for job or chore. The Eagle is dedicated to protecting our tribe, which is a very difficult job. I use his image to remind myself each day that my task is difficult and not to falter.  If you were just another chick, maybe I’d say they were body art, but I want to share that part of me with you.”

“So…” she teased. “How many other chicks have admired your body art?”

He laughed lightly with maybe a hint of a gallows laugh, “Not as many as you might guess.”

about Bill Blodgett...
I still live in the community where I met and married my lovely wife, Janice. Actually, she
lived around the corner from me and we both ignored each other until our teen years when the hormone thing kicked in and we suddenly realized that the cute little girl skipping rope and that goofy boy riding a bike had both grown up.
We are the proud parents of April and Lindsay; both of whom are now married. April married Darren and they have two beautiful boys, Brian and Owen. Lindsay married Tim and they have two beautiful children: Kailyn and Evan.
 I enjoy hiking, kayaking, camping with my family, golfing, making candles, and restoring my antique European sports car, a 1972 MGB.
They say to write from what you know, so I do. I write of love, life and relationships. In addition to the romantic plot we all expect from a Romance novel all of my books deal with a real-world issue as a sub-plot  that we all have had to deal in some manner in life, but not in a preachy way.  I find that including this sort of theme helps me identify with my characters on a personal level. My hope is that the reader will also feel that connection with my characters.
I have four other published novels. Dead Or A Lie and Saint’s Sword are vampire Romances. Unrequited is a contemporary novel with romantic elements and received 4 stars from Romantic Times Book Review magazine. The Last Prejudice is a family saga that deals with the issues a family must address when a family member comes out.
I have been a member of the RWA and the Central New York Romance Writers since 2004 and have held various posts in my local group. By day I am a construction inspector for an engineering company.

Please visit my website: www.billblodgett.com   or email me at  bill@billblodgett.com You can also find me on Facebook at @authorbillblodgett and Twitter @bill_blodgett
Buy link:
Amazon
Barnes and Noble

a Rafflecopter giveaway





Double Blind





Mystery Thriller
Date Published: March 31, 2020
Publisher: Anchor House Publishing

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

A young boy disappears in the chill of North Iceland. Twenty years later, a mysterious poem lands on the desk of his twin sister Brynja, a forensic geneticist, and rekindles her hopes that her brother might be alive. As Brynja unravels the clues, more poems arrive, each bearing dire consequences for those who receive them: the guard of the medieval manuscript of Icelandic sagas that possibly has the answer to her burning question, the prime minister’s secretary, the local pastor.

Is the poet out to stop Brynja from finding her brother and shut down her access to the DNA database? Or is the verse maker simply a psychopath copycat killer?

Fighting the visual auras that have plagued her since childhood and now threaten everything she holds dear, Brynja must summon the strength to navigate the twisted labyrinth of the poet’s mind and confront the dark secret buried in her family’s past.

DOUBLE BLIND is a wild ride through the cultural landscape of Iceland, from rural farmsteads to icy fjords to the high-tech world of DNA forensics. This crime thriller packed with twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end.






My Review
Interesting read. Sort of a scientific blend. Not usually what I read but it kept my attention.

About the Author




Sara Winkour is a geneticist and researcher who reinvented herself as an author. She writes historical fiction and informed cultural thrillers hoping to educate readers while they’re being entertained.  

Sara has a Masters in Psytogenetics for cancer diagnosis and a Ph.D. for her work on Muscular Dystrophy, identifying mutations that cause disease. She is also a consultant at the University of California and an Associate Researcher at Biological Chemistry School of Medicine at UCI, Irvine. She was part of the team that found the gene that causes Dwarfism and Huntington’s Disease. 

Sara is an avid reader of historical fiction, mystery-thrillers, and Scandinavian Noir. She also loves to travel and has already visited over 60 countries. 

Being an ovarian cancer survivor gives Sara a sense of gratitude, strength, and perspective that she extends to family, friends, work, and her writing.  A mother of three, she resides with her husband of 37 years in Southern California. 

Contact Links



Purchase Link




RABT Book Tours & PR