Friday, March 22, 2019

Empty Handed by Jo Hiestand


One dark night artist Craig Saxton went missing from his village. His body was found thirty-two hours later in the river, floating like a bobber on a fishing line. 


Rumors swell like tidal waves: did his ex-wife or his fiancée’s father kill this likeable young man? Or was it simply a case of jealousy by the village’s other artist? Now, two years later, Craig’s fiancée hopes ex-police detective Michael McLaren can find out.


From speaking to villagers, McLaren quickly realizes that what appears to be a straightforward investigation is fast becoming as tangled as fishing lines. Are the fish poaching incidents, the reappearance of the local ghost, and assaults on him merely to muddy the investigative waters, or are they connected to Craig’s death?


McLaren has his hands full. They become even fuller when a nemesis from his past appears one night, bent on revenge. And the inevitable struggle opens a new future for one man…and leaves the other empty handed.


Watch a Trailer here https://youtu.be/SixzWxI0ayM


BUY LINK

Amazon

Kobo

itunes

Barnes & Noble


Visit Jo at:  https://www.johiestand.com/



Learn a little about Jo...


What advice would you give to fledgling authors?

Getting your book read by reviewers and bought by the public is harder than writing it.
There are hundreds of books published each day in the U.S..  Fighting your way through that stack for recognition seems daunting. It will take time to find an audience and to develop a following, but don’t give up. Each new book written not only hones your skill but it also garners you more loyal readers. Hang in there; keep trying. You’re in this for the long term.

Have you ever taught anyone to write?

Actually, a friend and I teach a continuing education class three times a year at the community college. She’s also a St. Louis mystery author. The class is four-hours long and we cover plot, characters, clues, setting, and other parts of the mystery novel writing process.  One woman in the most recent class said she took the class because she’d taken one of my classes on designing book covers, and she learned so much that she came to this mystery writing class.  So, that was a nice confirmation that at least one person got a bit of useful knowledge from a subject I taught.


What do you like to do when you’re not writing?
Most any of my hobbies. I love to sit on my back deck in the spring and autumn, where I read and watch the birds. One of those activities usually runs a poor second to the other, however. But I do love to read (mysteries, British history from the medieval through the Tutor periods, WWII code breaking accounts, most things about nature and the solar system).  And I like to watch birds at the feeders. I love to bake, which I do mainly during the winter. I especially like to make bread—either yeast or quick—and I like making cookies. I’ve created cake and cheesecake recipes, and most are successful the first time, though I’ve produced some major flops! I love music, whether playing my guitar or listening to CDs.  Favorite music is early (medieval and renaissance), Baroque, American and UK folk, bluegrass, and Dixieland.  Walking through the woods and taking photographs is an enjoyable pastime. I used to make patchwork quilts (sew the top and do the hand quilting) but I don’t have my quilting frame anymore, so that’s a former hobby now.  I did crewel embroidery, too. In fact, my Jacobean tree of life still hangs on my living room wall. But, like quilting, that’s relegated to the past: how many pictures or vests can a person use?  A new activity that fascinates me is ancestral research. I’ve traced branches of my family back to Pict kings of Scotland and discovered some interesting relatives throughout the centuries.  Unfortunately, quite a number were murdered or executed—during the tumultuous Scottish clan clashes, Scotland/England battles, or via Henry VIII’s reign.  All in all, I keep busy even when I’m “relaxing.”

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Don't Mess with Gracie



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Carol Kilgore will be awarding a $50 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


The mysterious Mr. Ott is trying to intimidate Gracie Hofner into being his internal spy at The Bastion Group. She’s learned a lot about him through several sources, even using information provided by the pair of ghosts trying to save their granddaughter. But it isn’t enough. Mr. Ott is an expert in hiding his true identity.

Gracie isn’t as worried for herself as she is for her family, her friends, and her new tenant, Milo Porter. Her feelings for him have grown, but she can’t show them. Mr. Ott’s threats involve those she loves, and one friend has already been killed. Besides, she’s certain there is someone else in Milo’s life.

It takes Gracie and her growing support team to unmask Mr. Ott, but it’s what Gracie learns along the way that shows readers the wisdom of the advice Don’t Mess with Gracie.

This is the conclusion to The Amazing Gracie Trilogy—a story so big it takes three books to tell it. Gracie’s adventures begin with Jalapeno Cupcake Wench, continue with Bluebonnet Ballerina, and conclude here.

Read an Excerpt:
“I’m so glad we were down here, Milo.” Cameron blinked a few times, as if she couldn’t believe what she saw. “She could’ve been killed.”  

“No. She would’ve protected her head.”

I tried. How did he know?

Milo still held her shoulders, and now his fingers were making tiny circles above her shoulder blades. “We saw you in here and were coming in so I could introduce the two of you.”

“Nice to meet you, Cameron.” Gracie nodded. “I’m bleeding? Where?”

Milo took her hands before she realized she was moving them toward her face. “It’s not bad. Let’s go inside. I’ll fix you up.”

Cameron followed them. “Milo was a corpsman in the Navy. He knows what he’s doing. When I sprained my ankle a few years ago, he took care of it.”

“I don’t usually meet people like this,” Gracie said.

“Yeah she does.” Milo still held her hands in one of his.

Gracie turned to make a face at him. The quick movement made the ground wobble. “Whoa. I’m a little dizzy.”

“That’s all right.” Milo put his free arm around her waist. “You won’t fall.”

How was this happening? She was always the one in control. The person in charge. Yet Milo had stepped up when she needed someone, and she didn’t mind. That was it—she didn’t mind. She always minded when she lost control of a situation. Maybe I have a concussion.

Milo held onto her and led her out of the garage. He glanced at her car. “I like your new Jeep.”


About the Author:

Carol Kilgore is the award-winning author of the three books in The Amazing Gracie Trilogy: Jalapeno Cupcake Wench, Bluebonnet Ballerina, and Don’t Mess with Gracie.

In addition, she is the author of In Name Only, Solomon’s Compass, and Secrets of Honor, three standalone romantic suspense novels set along the Texas Gulf Coast.

She and her husband live in San Antonio, the setting for the Amazing Gracie books, with two quirky herding dogs who still require help opening the food bin and the door.

You can learn more about Carol by visiting her website and subscribing to her newsletter or connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

Newsletter: http://www.carolkilgore.net

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/carolkilgore.author/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/carol_kilgore

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Carol-Kilgore/e/B008FRCXQY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1

BUY LINK:
The book will be on sale $0.99 from Mar 4-18. Beginning Mar 19, it will be regular price of $3.99.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P61FPNP  


Carol is a member of Romance Writers of America, Mystery Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime.






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Where Sleeping Lies Lie



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. M. Naidoo will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



“Two men... two worlds... one desperate promise...”

If Anna had only known how the simple push of a button would turn her life upside down, she would never have pressed ‘Play.’

Just 22 seconds into the recording she’s hit by the realization that, if the voice in the thick German accent is right, she has been living with an unthinkable lie for the past thirty years.

There is only one way to find out: Follow the instruction left by a dead person and head back to Germany, to a life Anna has next to no conscious memory of.

To her surprise, she finds an unexpected ally in Peter, an old childhood friend whose law degree and language skills prove to be more than useful. Besides, he has the most gorgeous blue eyes and the uncanny ability to push Anna's buttons without the slightest effort. At every turn, their search for answers is littered with more lies and revelations.

Anna must ultimately decide whether even the noblest of ends, truly justify the means and whether some secrets should better stay buried.

“Mystery, history, and a twist at every turn. Brilliant characters and prolific storytelling... irresistible!”


Read an Excerpt...

"God, I can't even imagine." The weight of what Martha had lived through had made Anna feel queasy. She needed water.

"No, you can't."

She hadn't noticed how Peter was leaning forward, rubbing the back of his head, or how his voice had taken on a frigid undertone.

"Losing a child? I mean how do you get up in the morning?" Anna picked up her glass from the table.

"You don't—not for a long time." Anna froze. As she turned to look at Peter, his eyes, blank and dark, were fixed onto the candleholder in the center of the coffee table. She let herself fall back onto the sofa under the weight of the realization.

"When?" As if it would make a difference how much time had gone by.

"Nine years ago, in August." He turned his head to look at her. Anna didn't know what to say. What could she say?

"Her name was Sophie, the happiest, smartest, funniest, most loving three-year-old you will ever meet. One minute she's running and laughing, the next she's hooked up to machines with doctors telling you she won't ever wake up again." The pain she had felt in his voice had turned to bitterness.

"I'm so-"

"Sorry for my loss?" He finished her sentence. "That's what they all said, doctors, nurses, family, friends… everyone."

"What else were they going to say?"

"Nothing. Because there wasn't anything, anyone could say that would have brought her back. Words were just a waste of time."

"What about her mom?" Anna couldn't help but ask.

"Gone." He paused. "Without Sophie… we couldn't pick up the pieces."


About the Author:M.Naidoo lives in Northern California with her husband, two daughters, and three dogs. Born and raised in Germany, she was able to draw on a wealth of memories and passed down stories for Where Sleeping Lies Lie.



When she is not in front of her computer, pounding out story lines and characters, she enjoys reading, movies, spending time with her family, and long walks on the beach - her proverbial 'happy place'. M's love for the shore line and ocean shine through in the vivid descriptions of the coast in her debut novel The Pelican.



"Juggling my life as a writer and a full-time 'real' job has its challenges. I don't get to spend half as much time as I'd like doing what I love, and there are never enough hours in the day. Still, I feel extremely lucky to be following my passion, and I am enjoying every minute of it. Getting here has been one heck of a ride!"

For information about the author, her blog, upcoming releases, and more
visit http://www.mnaidoo.com.

Like and follow M. Naidoo on social media

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMNaidoo

https://www.instagram.com/authormnaidoo/




Buy Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07NL34N26



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

The Next to Last Mistake



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Amalie Jahn will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



Young Adult  YA
Tess Goodwin’s life in rural Iowa is sheltered and uncomplicated. Although she chooses to spend most of her free time playing chess with her best friend Zander, the farm-boy from next door, her skills as a bovine midwife and tractor mechanic ensure that she fits in with the other kids at East Chester High. But when her veteran father reenlists in the Army, moving her family halfway across the country to North Carolina, Tess is forced out of her comfort zone into a world she knows nothing about.

Tess approaches the move as she would a new game of chess, plotting her course through the unfamiliar reality of her new life. While heeding Zander’s long-distance advice for making new friends and strategizing a means to endure her dad’s imminent deployment to the Middle East, she quickly discovers how ill-equipped she is to navigate the societal challenges she encounters and becomes convinced she’ll never fit in with the students at her new school.

When Leonetta Jackson is assigned as her mentor, she becomes Tess’s unexpected guide through the winding labyrinth of cultural disparities between them, sparking a tentative friendship and challenging Tess to confront her reluctant nature. As the pieces move across the board of her upended life, will Tess find the acceptance she so desperately desires?

Read an Excerpt
I stand without making eye contact with anyone else in the room, especially Mrs. Alexander who’ll block me from leaving if given the opportunity. I gather my books hastily into my arms and run for the door. After skidding into the hallway, I make a beeline out to the student parking lot.

By the time I get there, Leonetta is already waiting for me, leaning against the hood of my car.

“Shortcut,” she says as I approach. “There’s a delivery corridor behind the closest stairwell to Mrs. Alexander’s room. Comes out right over there.” She nods toward a door on the side of the building, not twenty feet from where we’re standing.

Despite the storm raging inside me, I grin at her. She’s a good friend. A great friend. I should’ve known she’d come after me.

“What’s going on?” she asks as I sidle up beside her.

I consider saying ‘nothing’ and leaving it at that. I don’t want to talk about my epiphany, but I can’t lie to her. She’ll see right through me.

“You remember the guy, Zander, my friend from back in Iowa?”

“The one you talk about all the time?”

I glare at her. “Not all the time.”

It’s her turn to raise an eyebrow at me.

“Okay, I talk about him sometimes,” I concede. But then I stop. I can’t find the words to go on.

“What about him?” Leonetta urges, nudging me with an elbow.

“I…” I’ve never said the words aloud and it’s harder than I thought it was going to be. “I love him,” I say finally.

She makes a small sound. A bit like a laugh but more like a contented coo, as if she’s a baby and I’ve been tickling her toes. “I know.”

It feels almost like she’s punched me in the gut.

“You know?” I say. “How is that even possible? You’ve never even met him.”

She lays a hand on my shoulder, and if it had been anyone else doing it I would have thought it condescending, but since it’s Leonetta I’m certain she’s being sincere.

“Honey, that wistful look you get whenever you talk about him… There’s never been any doubt in my mind about your feelings for him.” She narrows her eyes at me, searching for something in the lines of my face. “Don’t tell me you’re just now figuring it out.”

Am I just now figuring it out?

“I’m afraid we might end up like Catherine and Heathcliff because we’re exactly like them, and I don’t want that for us. We were kids together. We grew up together. We have this thing between us that’s so much bigger than simple friendship. When Catherine says ‘I am Heathcliff,’ I totally relate. Because I am Zander, whether I want to be or not. I can’t separate myself from him because so much of who I am is tied to who he is. Our history is long and deep. But since we’ve been apart, things have changed.” I take a deep breath, surprised at how easily all of this is flowing out, but I focus, forcing myself to come to the point. “What destroyed Catherine and Heathcliff was their refusal to embrace change. They didn’t let their love mature. If my friendship with Zander is going to survive, it’s what we need to do.”

Leonetta shrugs. “So, you gonna tell him?”

My heart stops. “Tell him I love him?”

She slides off the hood of my car. “Yeah.”

“I don’t know if I can. At least not right now. Not while we’re so far apart.” She scowls at me. “I will, though, eventually. Maybe this summer if he comes to visit.”

“What if he never comes to visit?” she asks.

Tears pool in the corners of my eyes. “He’ll come,” I tell her. “He has to.”


About the Author:

Amalie Jahn is a USA TODAY bestselling author of more than 8 young adult novels, including The Next To Last Mistake, her latest release (Light Messages Publishing 2019).

Amalie is the recipient of the Literary Classics Seal of Approval and the Readers' Favorite Gold Medal for her debut novel, The Clay Lion. She is a contributing blogger with the Huffington Post and Southern Writers Magazine, as well as a TED speaker, human rights advocate, and active promoter of kindness. She lives in the United States with her husband, two children, and three overfed cats.

When she's not at the computer coaxing characters into submission, you can find Amalie swimming laps, cycling, or running on the treadmill, probably training for her next triathlon. She hates pairing socks and loves avocados. She is also very happy time travel does not yet exist. Connect with her right here in the present day at these social media sites:



Websites – http://www.amaliejahn.com and lightmessages.com/amalie-jahn

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AmalieJahn

Twitter - https://twitter.com/AmalieJahn

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/amalie.jahn.official

Visit http://www.amaliejahn.com to join Amalie’s FREE Readers Group and in addition to receiving promotional discounts, sneak peeks, and monthly newsletters, your membership will now grant you exclusive access to bonus material (shorts and novelettes) delivered right to your inbox!

Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1611532647/ref=as_li_tl

Barnes and Noble – https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-next-to-last-mistake-amalie-jahn/1129761093?ean=9781611532630

Apple – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-next-to-last-mistake/id1439682885?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-next-to-last-mistake



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Monday, March 11, 2019

Sun Storm

Romantic Suspense
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Marlow Kelly will be awarding $20 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY




In Montana to prove her portable solar panel can solve the world’s energy problems, naïve scientist, Dr. Marie Wilson must first fight to survive, and then expose the powerful businessman intent on destroying her life’s work. 

Ex-special forces soldier, David Quinn is haunted by the horrors of combat, and yearns to be left alone with his beehives, but agrees to do one last job for his old mentor.

When the scariest man she’s ever met becomes her savior, Marie discovers a heart of gold beats beneath his surly demeanor.




My Review
A really tough book to put down. This is a good thriller with lots of twists and turns. Marie is a child prodigy, a scientist trying to create another source of energy for us. A small mobile type of solar energy. One to help med units, army units, people living in the wild, well many, many things. Enough things to make the big companies nervous enough to make sure she can’t sell it. One of the guys that intends to make sure she can’t sell it was told she stole it and he intends to get it back for his company. David, a decorated soldier, has no idea that a killing is in the planning.

This is a different sort of plot; maybe a little more modern than what you might be used to. Different enough to keep me reading and good enough to keep me guessing a little at who would be good and who would be bad. This is not a book with a huge amount of main characters although there are several characters involved. I had no problem knowing “who was who”, so to speak. I think that’s because Kelly did a very good job with defining her characters. Each seemed to have his or her own unique personality. There is a little romance in this book; not enough to ruin the book for me. It is more romance in the sense of desire than sex (can there be a difference for that).

Sun Storm is Book 1 of a series titled “The Gathering Storm Series”. Marlow Kelly has several books published, all with good reviews.


Read an excerpt...

“You’re the one who broke into my cabin. I didn’t make you associate with criminals. And for the record, my life hasn’t been all sunshine and flowers since you crashed through my door,” she shouted back, shocked by her own reaction. What was wrong with her? She never argued, raised her voice, or confronted anyone. David was making her crazy. It was the only explanation. For some reason, she had no problem arguing with him. Maybe it was because he was so aggravating. 

She pointed a finger at him. “And I’m really sick of you forcing me into cars.” It was as if all her fear and stress were curled in her chest waiting for an outlet, and he was it.

“What?”

“I’ve known you for less than twelve hours, and you’ve pushed me into a vehicle three times.” She knew she was being unreasonable, but couldn’t stop.

He rolled his eyes. “Where are my manners? The next time someone’s trying to kill you, I’ll just politely ask if you’d like to get in my truck. Do you want me to curtsey while I’m at it?” He shouted the last part.

“There’s no need for sarcasm.” She sat straight, folding her hands in her lap, hoping if she gained control over her body, then she would gain some much needed restraint over her emotions.

“I think there is, and do up that window. It’s freezing in here.”

She did as she was asked, but only because her fingers were numb with the cold.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:


After being thrown out of England for refusing to drink tea, Marlow Kelly made her way to Canada where she found love, a home and a pug named Max. She also discovered her love of storytelling. Encouraged by her husband, children and let’s not forget Max, she started putting her ideas to paper. She enjoys writing suspenseful, fast-paced romance stories that always feature strong women. 

Marlow is an award-winning author and a member of the Romance Writers of America.

For more information about Marlow’s books check out her website at www.marlowkelly.com

Social Media Links







a Rafflecopter giveaway








Wednesday, March 6, 2019

The Haunting of Alice May



Tony Lee Moral and his new book...


 "The Haunting of Alice May"





Alice Parker moves with her Dad and younger sister to the sleepy town of Pacific Grove, to a start a new life after her Mom dies. Little does Alice know the strange and terrifying events to come. When she falls into the bay during a kayaking trip, she is rescued from drowning by the mysterious Henry Raphael. Handsome, old fashioned and cordial, he is unlike any other guy she has known before. Intelligent and romantic, he sees straight into her soul. Soon Alice and Henry are swept up in a passionate and decidedly unorthodox romance until she finds out that Henry drowned in the bay 100 years ago. . .



BOOK IS ON SALE 3/16











Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Elizabeth in the New World

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Maggie Mooha will be awarding $15 Boroughs Bucks to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY




Jane Austen's most famous lovers, Darcy and Elizabeth, return in a tale of romance, adventure, and danger set in the heart of the Caribbean.

NO GREATER LOVE

Darcy’s sudden, passionate kiss sweeps Elizabeth into a bliss she has never known...but their love is short-lived. On a field of honor, Wickham, once again, engages in an irresponsible act, which leaves Darcy mortally wounded and Elizabeth broken. Refusing to leave Darcy’s side, the last vestiges of her reputation are shattered, and when Elizabeth sees Darcy in his coffin, she is ruined in more ways than one. Devastated and without hope, reluctantly she agrees to accompany friends to Grenada, a Caribbean island on the brink of revolution.

Things are not what they seem. Darcy hasn’t died, but Elizabeth is gone and he fears it is too late to recapture what he has lost. As he struggles to recuperate, he must put aside his pride and his heritage in order to find the only woman he will ever love. Never before has Darcy sacrificed so much for a passion he fought against so vehemently. And never before has Elizabeth’s strength of character been stronger - it is the only thing standing between her and an end that doesn’t include Darcy.

My Review
Is this how I pictured things would turn out for Elizabeth and Darcy after the fact, or as a so-called sequel? I’m not sure. There is much research that has been put into the book as well as thought. We might all have had our own ideas how things turned out but now someone has put it into a very good book. The writing is very Austenesque, set in the same Georgian Era. Maggie Mooha portrays Elizabeth and her sisters as if Austen’s book is Book 1 and Mooha’s is Book 2 of the series. It truly seems a sequel. Lady Catherine is just as vicious if not moreso. Elizabeth’s mother is convinced that Elizabeth has ruined the whole family reputation just by declaring her love for Darcy and staying at his side while he is on his death bed. All of the same insensate ideas and morals of the Georgian Era exist in what is a little more modern book.

Just as in Jane Austen’s book, I had trouble at the beginning. It seemed to be a slow start for me. Maybe it’s because I wanted to know what would happen right away or maybe it was the way of the English and their frou frou ways, maybe it is even the language style.  


Amongst all these comments, it was a delightful book with strong men, weak men, delightful women and horrid ones, a little romance and a daring young hero. What more could you ask?



Read and excerpt...
She was grateful for all he was doing for her, and for her family despite its low connections and its unseemly behavior. Gratitude, however, was not her overwhelming emotion at that moment. She wanted him to take her in his arms. She wanted to kiss him good-bye, again and again. He turned to look at her once more.


She swallowed hard. His eyes. They bore into her like a dagger. It was now or never. What if he were killed? What if he lay in his grave never knowing that she loved him? He was prepared to sacrifice everything for her, his position, his reputation, his wealth, and now he was prepared to sacrifice his life. Could she hold her reputation above that?

He turned away from her and headed to the door. She could not let him go without telling him of her feelings. What if he was mistaken? What if Wickham killed her father and killed him too?
As he opened the door and exited, she said in a barely audible tone, “I love you.” She waited for the click of the door. It did not come.

The door opened again, and Darcy entered the room once more.

“What did you say?” he asked.

She faltered for a moment, then repeated, “I love you,” louder this time. It all happened in an instant. She did not move and yet she was in his arms. He strode across the room with such force that he lifted her off the ground. The touch of his body was intoxicating. Suddenly, a dark cloud crossed his face, and he let her down. He still had not kissed her.

“Perhaps you are only grateful to me,” he said, pulling away slightly, but not letting go of her. Oh no, no, he would know. She reached up and caressed his cheek.

“How can you doubt me?” she asked. “Do you think I do not know my own mind?”

She watched his face. His eyes searched hers as if he would find in them the truth he wanted to know. She touched his face again. He kissed her.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

I’ve always been a storyteller. When I was little, I used to tell my sister stories before we went to sleep. Most of them were serials – Superman and the like. It never occurred to me until much later in life that I should try my hand at writing.

Most of my career, I’ve been a music teacher. I’ve found music such a help when crafting a story. I actually see the structure of a book as if it was a musical composition. As for the nuts and bolts of my life, I grew up in the Chicago area and was a teacher there for quite a few years. I had a chance to teach at an international school in Dar Es Salaam in Tanzania, and I spent two years there. After adopting my son, we spent four years at an international school in the Philippines. During that time, I began writing. Now I live in the western U.S.

Most of my work has been screenplays. Over the years, I’ve won or placed well in competitions. I’m telling you this so you don’t think I sat down one day and wrote a novel out of the blue. I’ve spent many years working and learning.

A long time ago someone called me “an insatiable romantic.” I hope that's still true.

Visit with Maggie –

Twitter : @mmooha
Instagram: @mmooha5817

BUY LINKS:







a Rafflecopter giveaway








Favorite Hobby and Why

Wednesday Musings. Feel Free to add your own blog. Go to Long and Short Reviews - Wednesday Musings



I have two Favorite Hobbies and I can't begin to separate or determine which is most important. Both have been so entertwined in my life for so many years that they are pretty well me, not just hobbies.

MUSIC and BOOKS

The WHY of my hobbies, I owe all to my wonderful hard working mom.




I was lucky enough to have a mother to somehow get me to voice lessons once a week from the time I was 13 (always on Saturday as she was a full-time working single mother). How she did it and paid for it I'll never know. Because of those lessons and because of her I have spent a life filled with singing, performing, teaching, and all of the other things that go with a life full of music.





I was what is called a Library Latch-key child. Was I really there every day after school until my library closed? No. But, I was very close to it. My mother had a reading rule. Only 2 or 3 books during the week; no more than 10 on the weekend and I always had to have one non-fiction book. 

Poor lady, she was alone except for me and I had my nose in a book all of the time. But what a good upbringing. A life of living in all of the worlds you wanted, building your vocabulary every day, hiding away behind a book whenever you needed to. I still probably read for all of the same reasons. 


Wish now & then my beautiful mother could be at the other end of the kitchen table or standing at the ironing board while I read.  

Monday, March 4, 2019

The Tursiop Syndrome and the Moment Between

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. John C. Waite will be awarding a $50 Gift Certificate to Nuts.com to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 
Click to read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY









This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Gareth Frank will be awarding a $50 Amazon or B&N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

Click to read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY

https://www.ourtownbookreviews.com/p/the-moment-between.html

Sunday, March 3, 2019

My Darkest Prayer

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. S. A. Cosby will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN Gift Certificate to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY



Whether it's working at his cousin's funeral home or tossing around the local riff raff at his favorite bar, Nathan Waymaker is a man who knows how to handle the bodies. A former Marine and Sheriff's deputy, Nathan has built a reputation in his small Southern town as a man who can help when all other avenues have been exhausted. When a local minister with grandiose ambitions is found dead, Nathan is approached by his parishioners who feel the local police are dragging their feet with the investigation. What starts out as an easy payday soon descends into a maze of mayhem filled with wannabe gangsters, vicious crime lords, porn stars, crooked police officers and a particularly treacherous preacher and his mysterious wife. Nathan must use all his varied skills and some of his wit to navigate the murky waters of small town corruption even as dark secrets of his own threaten to come to the surface.

My review
At first I thought this had a Walter Mosely feel. Not the story so much as the feeling in the writing. But the more pages I read, the more I realized that S. A. Cosby had his own style and it was special. 

The main character, Nathan, describes his job as the man who retrieves the bodies. He did it in the war and he works in a Funeral Home owned by his cousin. Nathan is the kind of tough guy I like. He’s kind and yet strong. He’s a smart ass, a really funny one too. And he’s handsome. I am aware this is a book and there are no pictures but somehow I just know that,  or at least Cosby described him well enough that in my mind he’s a good-lookin’ guy.

Since Nathan is a former cop, two ladies from a church ask him to look into the death of their minister, not maybe a super clean guy, but one they loved. It seems like the cops are saying it was suicide. Thus, the story begins of Nathan Waymaker, the body retriever guy.

Let me tell you, this is a page-turner. I hated every moment that I had to put it down to do something else. I loved the story, I loved the writing style and I loved the humor. Cosby made his characters real and fun; some bad, some good, like any mystery should have. He described them in their settings so well that you could see them almost as if they were in movie scenes.

I read substantially, sometimes for fun and sometimes professionally. I am very picky. There are many good authors out there and I admire them. But this guy, he’s a great author and wherever he might be right now, he’d sure better be writing another Nathan Waymaker book because I’m waiting for one.

Do not miss out on this book.

Read an excerpt...

I handle the bodies.

That's what I say when people ask me what I do for a living. I find that gets one of two responses. They drift away to the other side of the room and give me a sideways glance the rest of the night or they let out a nervous laugh and move the conversation in another, less macabre direction. I could always say I work at a funeral home, but where's the fun in that?

Every once in a while when I was in the Corps, someone would see me at Starbucks that modern mecca Wal-Mart in my utility uniform. Sometimes they’d catch me in my dress blues after a military ball just trying to grab something before heading back to the base. They would  walk up to me and say, “Thank you for your service.” I'd mumble something like “No, thank you for your support” or some other pithy rejoinder, and they would wander away with a nice satisfied look on their faces. Sometimes what I wanted to say was, “I took care of the bodies. The bodies with the legs blown off or the hands shredded. The bodies full of ball bearings and nails and whatever some kid could find to build his IED. I loaded the bodies up and dragged them back to the base, then went back out on another patrol and prayed to a God that seemed to be only half-listening that today wasn't the day that someone would have to take care of my body.”
But I don't think that would have given them the same warm and fuzzy feeling.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

S.A. Cosby is a writer whose work has been published in numerous magazine and anthologies. His story "Slant-Six" received an honorable mention in Best Mystery Stories of 2016. His life experiences include being a retail manager, a bouncer, a forklift driver, a landscaper, a roadie, a construction worker, a mortuary attendant, and he once wore a cow suit when he worked for Chik Fil-A. He majored in English at Christopher Newport University and now lives in Gloucester, Virginia.



a Rafflecopter giveaway