Thursday, May 23, 2019

Murder by Munchausen Trilogy


This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. M. T. Bass will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY 



A police procedural sci fi thriller ripped from future headlines!


After Jake shoots and kills a murder suspect who turns out to be the son of a powerful city councilman, he finds himself demoted to the Artificial Crimes Unit, tracking down androids hacked and programmed to be hit men.


When his case of an “extra-judicial” divorce settlement takes a nasty turn with DNA from a hundred-year-old murder in Boston and a signature that harkens back to the very first serial killer ever in London, Jake finds himself tangled up in the brutal slayings of prostitutes being investigated by his former Robbery/Homicide partner, Maddie–who is now his lover.

But a madman, The Baron, is just getting started with his AI recreations of Jack the Ripper's brutal crimes. And Maddie and Jake are teamed up again to stop the carnage as the Baron's army of human replicants imitate history's most notorious serial killers.

"It might not make sense, but the beloved Media tags it 'Murder by Munchausen.' For a price, there are hackers out there who will reprogram a synthoid to do your dirty work. The bad news: no fingerprints or DNA left at the crime scene. The good news—at least for us—is that they’re like missiles: once they hit their target, they’re usually as harmless as empty brass. The trick is to get them before they melt down their core OS data, so you can get the unit into forensics for analysis and, hopefully, an arrest." [excerpt from Murder by Munchausen]

Artificial Intelligence? Fuhgeddaboudit!

Artificial Evil has a name…Munchausen.
Read an Excerpt

From Murder by Munchausen (#1)

This particular Android Subject apparently went off the rails and killed a luckless pedestrian on his way to a bodega for some iced tea or bottled water to quench his thirst. A one-in-a-million occurrence, but every so often it still happens. Anyone who believes technology is infallible is a fool. The incident didn’t appear all that nefarious when first reported, but shortly thereafter the Atlas data stream went dark and patrol called our unit in. It quickly became obvious we were dealing with a malware hit, not a malfunction. The luckless pedestrian was actually not so luckless, being on what appeared to be the winning side of a particularly nasty termination suit with his ex, who we suspected had outsourced the final settlement to extra-judicial parties.

It might not make sense, but the beloved Media tags it “Murder by Munchausen.” For a price, there are hackers out there who will reprogram a synthoid to do your dirty work. The bad news: no fingerprints or DNA left at the crime scene. The good news—at least for us—is that they’re like missiles: once they hit their target, they’re usually as harmless as empty brass. The trick is to get them before they melt down their core OS data, so you can get the unit into forensics for analysis and, hopefully, an arrest.


About the Author:
M.T. Bass is a scribbler of fiction who holds fast to the notion that while victors may get to write history, novelists get to write/right reality. He lives, writes, flies and makes music in Mudcat Falls, USA.

Born in Athens, Ohio, M.T. Bass grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. He graduated from Ohio Wesleyan University, majoring in English and Philosophy, then worked in the private sector (where they expect “results”) mainly in the Aerospace & Defense manufacturing market. During those years, Bass continued to write fiction. He is the author of eight novels: My Brother’s Keeper, Crossroads, In the Black, Somethin’ for Nothin’, Murder by Munchausen, The Darknet (Murder by Munchausen Mystery #2), The Invisible Mind (Murder by Munchausen Mystery #3) and Article 15. His writing spans various genres, including Mystery, Adventure, Romance, Black Comedy and TechnoThrillers. A Commercial Pilot and Certified Flight Instructor, airplanes and pilots are featured in many of his stories. Bass currently lives on the shores of Lake Erie near Lorain, Ohio.




Website: https://www.mtbass.net

Blog: https://www.owl-works.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/owlworks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Owlworks

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/mtbass

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5270962.M_T_Bass



Murder by Munchausen Trilogy Purchase Links


https://www.amazon.com/Murder-Munchausen-Trilogy-Future-Mystery-ebook/dp/B07QDGHYZ6

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/murder-by-munchausen-trilogy-books-1-3/id1458934052?mt=11

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1131145794?ean=2940156040681

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/murder-by-munchausen-trilogy

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/932579








a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Empty Handed

British Mystery
This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Jo A. Hiestand will be awarding a $50 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY 




One dark night artist Craig Saxton went missing from his village.  His body was found thirty-two hours later in the river, floating like a bobber on a fishing line. Rumors swell like tidal waves: did his ex-wife or his fiancée’s father kill this likeable young man? Or was it simply a case of jealousy by the village’s other artist? Now, two years later, Craig’s fiancée hopes ex-police detective Michael McLaren can find out. From speaking to villagers, McLaren quickly realizes that what appears to be a straightforward investigation is fast becoming as tangled as fishing lines. Are the fish poaching incidents, the reappearance of the local ghost, and assaults on him merely to muddy the investigative waters, or are they connected to Craig’s death? McLaren has his hands full. They become even fuller when a nemesis from his past appears one night, bent on revenge. 

And the inevitable struggle opens a new future for one man…and leaves the other empty handed.




My Review...
This is Book 10 of Jo Hiestand’s McLaren Mysteries series. Even before I finished it, I could tell Hiestand had done it again. Created another excellent, well-written mystery; one with even more twists and turns than before. She’s made McLaren a little more melancholy, yet still the same understanding, sharp, and tough cop that always attracts me. He’s recovered just a bit from the death of his fiancé and may even be ready to let himself feel again. He’s still running as hard as he can to help someone in need, but this time he might have to help himself.

The author played with my mind a little or at least that’s how it felt; all in a good way. I was sure I knew the killer because of a few little tips I thought I had found, and then, well, suffice it to say I was wrong. I’ve read all of the books in this series, and I’ve learned that sometimes if you are really paying attention, Hiestand will stick in some tiny little hints. Sometimes it’s to help you maybe figure out the killer a page or two before the very end of the book or… they might just be red herrings.

The twists and turns in the story work out well here, and I think it’s because the author is so very good at descriptive writing. The little village becomes real as does the pub that McLaren and Jamie have a pint in while trying to work through the crime. The dialog between them is smooth reading, not always an easy thing to do. Hiestand is good at making us be each character now and then, and just as good at painting a scene, so you feel as if you are there. 


Being a part of the story and loving the main characters in them is what causes readers to watch for the next book as quickly as they’ve finished the current one. Now I feel sort of “empty-handed”. Any more coming Ms. Hiestand?


Read an excerpt...
They settled at a table they considered theirs. It was in a corner, diagonal to the pub’s front door. Sitting with the wall behind them and their faces to the door was a habit McLaren kept from his days as a working detective. And it was one habit he was in no rush to break.

Jamie set his glass mug on a cardboard beer mat and leaned forward slightly. The reddish streaks in his otherwise brown hair shone under the overhead light. “Congrats on solving the murder of your uncle’s first fiancée, by the way. Do you like his new bride? What’s her name?”

“Karen. And yes, I like her. I wasn’t too sure when I first met her, but she has a lot of inner strength. She’s good for him.”

“And where are you off to now?”

“Linnden.”

“That’s not far. Near Hartington, isn’t it? On the River Dove?”

“Yeah. Small place. And it sounds like an odd case. The woman, Victoria Childs, doesn’t know who else to turn to for help.”

“So, she turns to you.” Jamie smiled, his eyebrow raised. “She’s made a brilliant choice.”

McLaren let the comment pass unanswered. “She wants me to find the killer of her fiancé. His name’s Craig Saxton. He was an artist, quite prominent in the local area, though you couldn’t swear it by me.”

“You frequent art galleries only when your sister has something to exhibit.”

McLaren nodded, his fingers sliding down the sides of his glass. “Anyway, this Craig Saxton had been missing for one and a half days. His body was found against the sluice gate in the river.”

“Not good.”

McLaren snorted at the understatement. “He was also missing his right hand.”




AUTHOR Bio and Links:
A month-long trip to England during her college years introduced Jo to the joys of Things British.  Since then, she has been lured back nearly a dozen times, and lived there during her professional folk singing stint.  This intimate knowledge of Britain forms the backbone of both the Peak District mysteries and the McLaren cold case mystery series.

Jo’s insistence for accuracy, from police methods and location layout to the general feel of the area, has driven her innumerable times to Derbyshire for research.  These explorations and conferences with police friends provide the detail filling the books.

In 1999 Jo returned to Webster University to major in English.  She graduated in 2001 with a BA degree and departmental honors.

Her cat Tennyson shares her St. Louis home.


Amazon buy link:




Monday, May 20, 2019

That Guy and That Girl

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Natalia Albrite will be awarding a $50 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

See below to sign up for the GIVEAWAY 




Olivia Meadows is excited to finish her senior year of college as a volleyball national champion beside her teammates and best friends. A complication arrives in the form of John Hunter, that guy, her brother’s best friend whom she has had a secret crush on since she was eleven years old. Effortlessly charming and handsome, with a body honed by years of playing football, John initiates his charm offensive and Olivia finds herself unable to resist him.

John Hunter is pumped to finish his senior year of college as a football national champion beside his teammate and best friend. The only thing missing is that girl, Olivia Meadows, his best friend’s little sister. He needed to sow some wild oats before settling down with Olivia but now he is ready for something serious with the girl he has always admired. 

Be careful what you wish for. John and Olivia find themselves dealing with adult consequences very quickly and wondering if their young love can endure the pressures of adulthood. Will they find deeper love or implode from the pressures of their own making?

Read an excerpt...
It feels like a secret magical place. No one else is around and I can’t even hear the usual sounds of campus from here. I jump in, “Can I go first?”


I’m really proud of what I’ve written and knowing how great Olivia is with words, I don’t want to follow her. “Of course,” she answers. I face her, take out my folded paper, and grab one of her hands. I take a moment to look at her. No rush. Everything else has been so fast that I’ve barely gotten to take it in. This, I want to remember and feel.

She squeezes my hand which reassures me that I’m not alone here. We are in this together. I take a deep breath and begin. “Olivia Meadows, I didn’t know it at the time but I’ve loved you since I was sixteen years old. You generously helped me with an English paper about The Age of Innocence and that was it for me.”

She jumps in, “I remember that.” I smile back.

“My turn here,” I remind her with a grin. She holds up her hands in surrender. We hold one hand again and I return to my paper, “As I was saying…what that study session did was create a need in me that could only be filled by you. I saw the book’s world through your eyes and realized that I had been missing so much. It also showed me that, through your eyes, everything is brighter, deeper, and more. I was a little too wild then to want to slow down but I’m not now.”


Read An Interview with Natalia: Click Here



AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Natalia is a lifelong reader and lover of romance novels. Before finally tapping away at her keyboard to create her own stories, she tried all sorts of professions: elementary school teacher, barista, seller of make-up, baker, and the list goes on. When she isn't pursuing the arts, she's hanging out with her husband, two wacky children, and full-figured Corgi.

Website:

Buy link:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


PLEASE NOTE: this book will be $0.99 during the tour.







Sunday, May 19, 2019

Shades of Justice



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Carolyn Arnold will be awarding a personalized paperback copy of Power Struggle to a randomly drawn winner (International Giveaway) via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.



The line between good and evil isn’t always clear…

Detective Madison Knight has risked her badge—and her life—in the pursuit of justice before, and she just might need to do so again. Two victims are found murdered and naked in the home of Steven Malone, who is the largest contributor to the Stiles PD. One victim is his wife. The other victim is a John Doe. This high-profile double homicide immediately pits Madison against her sergeant, who seems more intent on protecting the Malones’ reputation and retaining a benefactor than catching a killer.


Madison will need to pull on her tenacity and courage if she’s going to follow the evidence without prejudice. In the process, it becomes clear that finding justice isn’t always black and white, and often the shades in between tell the fullest story—and it’s not something she will forget anytime soon.
My Review...
 Well, once again Arnold had me swinging between “do I tow the line” like Madison’s partner or “do I fight for justice no matter what the consequences” like Madison. Actually, I have this struggle almost every time I read this series. There’s a mean and ugly lieutenant they have to deal with, and he doesn’t just tow the line, he seems to suck up to almost every superior or donor. Even though in my mind I know this is all necessary whether it be a business or a public service department, it always makes me mad. I guess I’m a Madison, and I guess Carolyn Arnold creates her characters personalities so well, she has me gonna “show ‘em” before I get through a few chapters. I think this is one of Arnold’s greatest assets. You wouldn’t think that you could create as much interest or tension when most of the time two people are sitting in a car together. In her stories it seems like so much goes on with a very tight, condensed way of writing. Almost a “the less said the better” kind of thing and I am not sure how she tells a story so fully that way.

I’m sorry. I’m supposed to tell you just a tad about the story aren’t I? Obviously, I got a little carried away. As you can probably tell from the first paragraph Madison Knight is a cop, sometimes called Maddie. Madison is cheeky, tough, sometimes outspoken and always on the right side of justice. Terry is her partner and a friend and yet seems to have some problems this time. Problems that move her emotionally and make her want to butt in and yet make her want to respect his privacy. This is actually a pretty apt description of Madison as a cop. This time Maddie is part of Cynthia’s wedding. Cynthia is the ME on the force. While Maddie’s glad for her friend, she’s about as happy about being involved in the wedding as I would be.

This is Book 9 of a series titled “Detective Madison Knight”. This is what I would classify as crime fiction, a page turner like all of Arnold’s books and once again shows her knowledge of police procedure. No question it can be read as a stand alone. Only problem will be that you will have missed out on the other books in the series.
Carolyn Arnold has many books published; all have high reviews.


Read an Excerpt...

They say someone’s always having a worse day than you are. Who the heck are “they,” and how would they know, anyway? Madison was pretty sure days couldn’t get much worse than the one Kimberly Olson-Malone was having. Madison couldn’t imagine finding her own mother dead—and naked with another man, no less. As much as she felt for Kimberly, she couldn’t let it cloud her judgment. Kimberly had been the one to find them and that alone made her the first suspect.

Terry pointed to the next street as they drove. “Turn right there.”

Even though Terry knew where they were going, Madison was the one driving.

She took the corner, and he pointed at a two-story, gray-brick mansion. With the exception of the forensics van and a police cruiser parked in the three-car driveway, the house had terrific curb appeal with its large front windows and double-door entry.

Madison parked out front on the street.

“Before we go in, I’m going to give you a warning,” Terry said.

She glanced over at him, her hand letting go of the door handle. Was he going to tell her it was a messy scene? There wasn’t much else that turned her stomach as did the sight and stench of a lot of blood. She gulped. The victims had been shot.

“Okay,” she said with trepidation.

“Cynthia’s on the warpath,” Terry said. “She makes your bad moods look like—”

“Be careful of your next words.”

“Or what?” He wriggled his fingers as if to say, Bring it on.

Terry really was the brother she never had. “Why’s she in a bad mood?” Madison asked but could think of at least one off the top of her head: her wedding was mere days away, and a case like this would take a lot of time for evidence collection and processing. That thought led to another. “Oh, no.”

“What?”

“We had plans for a final dress fitting tonight. We might have to push that off.”

Terry arched his brows. “I’m not a wedding planner, but shouldn’t dress fittings have been done ages ago?”

It wasn’t for the lack of trying, but it turned out that when dresses were ordered from different shops, they could be made from different dye lots. With Cynthia’s sister and bridesmaid, Tammy, living in Alabama, she’d gotten hers there while Madison ordered hers in Stiles. With take two, they returned their initial dresses and arranged to get new ones from the same bridal shop in Stiles. “It’s a long story,” was all she said.



About the Author: CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives in London, Ontario with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:



Website - http://carolynarnold.net/

Twitter - https://twitter.com/Carolyn_Arnold

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolynArnold



And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 17, 2019

Jo Hiestand Book Launch Party

Come one, come all...or something like that...


You do not want to miss out on all of the chances author Jo Hiestand has for winning prizes. It's really and truly prizes for all of May and June!



Actually you'll want to read her books too. They are great.



Wednesday May 22, 4-week virtual book review tour of Jo's latest book "Empty Handed" 

Go to:  GoddessFish Promotions  $50 gift card to Amazon or B&N to randomly selected person who logs on to one/some/all of the review sites and leaves a comment 


Sunday June 2 
online FB book launch party
        4-5:30pm EDT 
        3-4:30pm CDT
        2-3:30pm MDT 
        1-2:30pm PDT
           

    https://www.facebook.com/jo.hiestand.3





All of June Empty Handed mailing list promo  with the Mystery genre book listings on authorsxp, randomly selected person could win one of three free e-book giveaways authorsxp.com



Watch a trailer for EMPTY HANDED:  https://youtu.be/SixzWxI0ayM






Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Cakewalk to Murder



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. MK Scott will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Bake-off fever is in full-swing and Donna can’t help but have visions of becoming the next great baking star, but the competition is stiff, and someone is willing to kill to win.

When one of the contestants is found dead, a twist of fate puts Donna at the center of the competition. That’s the perfect position to unravel the mystery, but only if she doesn’t get caught in the crosshairs.

My Review
This was a fun cozy. It has some of the “pat” items all cozies have; a handsome cop, a B&B, a neat little coastal town. But, at the same time, the storyline was a little different. The nosy amateur detective is married to that handsome cop and this time there is a real live Bake Off tv show being filmed. Of course, I love cooking and I love food, so all of the Bake-off successes and all of the flops were fun for me to read about.


I’m not saying that there aren’t lots of the same types of characters here as in lots of cozies, but I enjoyed M. K. Scott’s characters maybe a little more than the usual ones. They seemed like hard-working, everyday people with the same good and bad things we deal with every day, except for murder of course. While the story is being told, the author seems to have the characters set right in the scene doing what they would do every day. Just made it interesting but real. 

I felt that the discovery of the bad guy or girl came upon me a little quickly. Maybe I wanted more drama. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the book. It was well worth my time and a fun, relaxing read.


Read an Excerpt

A petite brunette and a taller man with a city haircut that screamed expensive waited at the bottom of the stairs, giving each other weighted looks. If it was one of her married couples, then the anniversary weekend was not starting out well. The woman stepped in front of Donna before her foot could reach the floor.

“I’m Emily Featherstone.” The woman smoothed a hand down her the skirt of her navy suit. “I believe the show booked me here?”

“Yes.” Donna agreed and stepped around the woman. “I’ll get your key, and Ten can show you up to your room.” She put a slight emphasis on Ten’s name. If he wouldn’t check people in, then he’d haul them up to their rooms.

The woman moved closer and lowered her voice. “I don’t want my room next to that pretender.”

“Okay, but I’m not sure who you’re talking about.” Mentally, she sighed. While the idea of a bake-off might be fine for her, she had to accept she might be waist-high in demanding divas. That would be the price she paid. It wouldn’t be the first time.

“Dalton Gallant,” the woman hissed the name through gritted teeth, then shot a toxic look at the man standing a few feet away.

“How about I put you on the third floor as far away from Mr. Gallant as possible?”

“Yes.” The woman pressed her hands together. “That’s the first thing that has gone right for me since I was chosen as a contestant.”

Personally, Donna would have considered being a contestant as one of those things that went right.


About the Author:
M. K. Scott is the husband and wife writing team behind The Painted Lady Inn Mysteries and The Talking Dog Detective Agency. Morgan K Wyatt is the general wordsmith, while her husband, Scott, is the grammar hammer and physics specialist. He uses his engineering skills to explain how fast a body falls when pushed over a cliff and various other felonious activities. The Internet and experts in the field provide forensic information, while the recipes and B and B details require a more hands-on approach. Morgan’s daughter, who manages a hotel, provides guest horror stories to fuel the plot lines. The couple’s dog, Chance, is the inspiration behind Jasper, Donna’s dog. Overall, both are fun series to create and read.





Website: http://www.morgankwyatt.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMorganKWyatt

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/morgankwyatt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5826299.Morgan_K_Wyatt

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/morgankwyatt/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/M-K-Scott/e/B01M4JGK1A/


Buy Links:


Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07NVTX6V1/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_bibl_vppi_i1





a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sunday, May 12, 2019

Joy After Noon



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Debra Coleman Jeter will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


Joy marries a widowed bank executive caught in an ethical dilemma and misreads his obvious frustration while struggling to integrate into her new family. Inspired in part by Love, Come Softly, this novel explores the challenges of second marriages and dealing with step-children during the crucial years of puberty and teenage angst. A college professor coming up shortly for the huge tenure decision, Joy finds herself falling apart as her career and her home issues deteriorate and collide.


Read an Excerpt

Joy opened a cabinet door to gaze at the rows of hand-painted spices, little bottles labeled in delicate, loopy cursive and decorated with yellow daffodils, each flower unique. What kind of woman would take the time to transfer store-bought spices into hand-crafted containers? The same woman who painted the daffodils? As a teacher of finance, Joy would question whether she could sell the hand-painted jars for enough cash to compensate for the materials and labor.



In this new universe, the question was altogether different. What was the question? Joy felt lost.



The jars appeared to be aligned in alphabetical order, and she checked to be sure. Coriander seed, cumin ... tarragon, turmeric. They probably hadn’t been used since Carolyn died. Either that, or Carolyn had trained Ray and the girls to keep them in their proper sequence.



The phone rang, startling Joy in the unaccustomed setting. She recognized the voice at once. Her colleague and coauthor Natalie. Yes, the honeymoon was wonderful, Joy told her. She elaborated on the brilliant turquoise of the water, the amazing world she and Ray explored together beneath the sea. She couldn’t tell Natalie the real wonder. To be held, to be nurtured, to feel cherished for the first time in so many years. For the first time ever by a man. She flushed at the thought of confessing as much, at her age.



“I haven’t forgotten our paper,” she said instead. “I know I’ve been negligent lately. But I’ll get on it. Right away.”


About the Author:
Debra Coleman Jeter has published both fiction and nonfiction in popular magazines, including Working Woman, New Woman, Self, Home Life, Savvy, Christian Woman, and American Baby. Her first novel, The Ticket, was a finalist for a Selah Award, as well as for Jerry Jenkins’ Operation First Novel. Her story, “Recovery,” was awarded first prize in a short story competition sponsored by Christian Woman; and her nonfiction book “Pshaw, It’s Me Grandson”: Tales of a Young Actor was a finalist in the USA Book News Awards. She is a co-writer of the screenplay for Jess + Moss, a feature film which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, screened at nearly forty film festivals around the world, and captured several domestic and international awards.



Website and Blog: http://www.debracolemanjeter.com

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/njjeter/the-ticket-a-novel

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/debra.c.jeter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DebColemanJeter

The Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1941103863

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

The Ticket trailer: https://vimeo.com/50187275



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, May 9, 2019

Curse of the Lucky

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Nathan Wrann will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

To read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY 
Click HERE
















STARTING MAY 10th

Check it out now:    An ONLINE PARTY

Prizes, prizes and more prizes...

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Soup and By the light of embers




This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Travis Haugen will be awarding $30 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 

To read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY 
Click HERE






This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Shaylin Gandhi will be awarding  a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 


To read an excerpt and sign up for the GIVEAWAY 
Click HERE

By the Light of Embers



This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Shaylin Gandhi will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Click on the tour banner to see the other stops on the tour.


It's 1954, and twenty-two-year-old Lucia Lafleur has always dreamed of following in her father’s footsteps. While sock hops and poodle skirts occupy her classmates, she dreams of bacteria and broken bones—and the day she’ll finally fix them.



After graduation, a letter arrives, and Lucia reads the words she’s labored a lifetime to earn—"we are pleased to offer you a position at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine." But in the midst of her triumph, her fiancé delivers a crushing ultimatum: forego medical school, or forego marriage.

With fractured hopes, she returns home to Louisiana, expecting nothing of the summer of '54 but sweet tea and gumbo while she agonizes over her impending choice. There, she unexpectedly befriends Nicholas, a dark-skinned poet whose dignity and intellect are a salve to her aching heart. Their bond, initially forged from a shared love of literature, soon blossoms into something as bewitching as it is forbidden.

Yet her predicament deepens when a trivial misunderstanding between a local white woman and a black man results in a brutal lynching, and the peril of love across the color lines becomes chillingly real. Now, fulfilling her lifelong dream means relinquishing her heart—and escaping Louisiana alive.


Read an Excerpt...

I snuck a glance at him as he looked into the distance. Something had sprung to life inside me—and for a moment, I ignored all the complications. Suspended in the blossoming evening, I admitted that undiscovered pieces of myself were surfacing, opening before him like flowers.

“Any minute now.”

I followed his gaze. Inverness, a distant castle of pale light, was just visible over the treetops. Beyond it, the ashes of the day clung to the horizon in a lingering afterglow. Above, the sky’s vaulted reaches shimmered.

Suddenly, a flower of green fire bloomed over the swamp. My breath caught as bursts of blue and white spiraled through the night. I leaned forward, enraptured, and Nicholas made a soft sound just before the percussive booms reached us.

Jeweled showers thundered on a stage of starlight, in plumes of green and red, in staccato diamond haloes and fountains of pink. The glistening river reflected each spark, surrounding us with flowers of flame.

I watched, slack-jawed, my heart soaring.

“Magnificent,” he said, each unfurling shower shining in the mirrors of his eyes.

I couldn’t say how long we stood there, but eventually the display came to its final salvo. Fireworks illuminated the night as the explosions reached a deafening roar. Then, as quickly as the show had begun, the last dandelion of blue faded to an incandescent shadow.

The bayou lay still.

I held my breath, unwilling to break the silence. The air ripened, heavy with magic. I looked up at Nicholas with widened eyes.

“Worth the walk?”

I nodded. “It was beautiful.”

So was he. It was all I could see now—the line of his jaw, the sweep of his eyelashes. His lips, their lush curves.

I said, “It would’ve been worth it without the fireworks.”

Gilded eyes searched my face. “Why’s that?”

The humid night pressed in, gathered between us like a palpable force, pulling me forward until I found myself leaning into his question. He must have felt it too, because he raised a hand. I braced myself for contact, for his skin to touch mine for the first time. The pale pad of his thumb hovered inches from my cheek.



About the Author:
SHAYLIN GANDHI secretly stole her mother’s copy of Clan of the Cave Bear at age ten, and fell madly in love with love stories. Now, as an author, she still can't get enough, and the tales she spins all center around affairs of the heart. To her, that's what makes a story truly worth telling.



Besides writing, she tries to stamp her passport at every opportunity. Traveling has been a lifelong passion, and she’s lucky to have done it a lot. Shaylin and her husband once spent an entire summer living in their van while touring the Pacific Northwest, British Columbia, and Alaska. Her most memorable trips often tie in with writing: her books are usually inspired by majestic places that stole her breath.



In addition, Shaylin practices medicine, scuba dives, plays the piano, and once rode her bicycle from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. She now lives in Denver with her incredible husband, their identical twin daughters, and two adorable rescue dogs. The family can usually be found in the mountains, either hiking up or skiing down.



You can find Shaylin online at www.shaylingandhi.com or on Twitter @shaylingandhi. Please get in touch—she would love to hear from you!


Website: www.shaylingandhi.com



Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShaylinGandhi


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shaylingandhi/


Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/shaylingandhi/



https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07NPNWZ3B/ref=x_gr_w_bb



a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Blind Walls

This post is part of a virtual book tour organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Conrad Bishop and Elizabeth Fuller will be awarding $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. 



See below to read an excerpt and a great Interview. And ...to sign up for the GIVEAWAY



It's a monstrous maze of a mansion, built by a grief-ridden heiress. A tour guide, about to retire, has given his spiel for so many years that he's gone blind. On this last tour, he's slammed with second sight.

He sees the ghosts he's always felt were there: the bedeviled heiress, her servants, and a young carpenter who lands his dream job only to become a lifelong slave to her obsession. The workman's wife makes it to shore, but he's cast adrift.

And the tour guide comes home to his cat.


The pairing of Bishop and Fuller is a magical one. . . . It’s a brilliant opus, melding the past, present, and future with intimate, individual viewpoints from a tightly arrayed cast of believable characters in as eerie a setting as might be dredged out of everyman’s subconscious searching. . . . Blind Walls offers a weird alternative world, featuring a blind man with second sight and an acerbic wit as its charming, empathic hero.
—Feathered Quill

These characters are so well developed that one has to think of them as live people – laughing with them and crying with them, even getting old with them.  This is an amazing story based on the Winchester Mansion and told with such quiet, compelling, raw humanity that the reader simply can’t stop until the entire tale is told.  A wonderful, spooky look into others lives and what may or may not happen on any given day.
—Dog-Eared Reviews

Bishop and Fuller have constructed a story rich with imagined detail and visionary ideas about life’s possibilities. The cast of ghostly characters, servants, workman, and family light up the story with dramatic effect as their actions and choices are observed. . . . The authors’ prose is effortless and moves easily from humorous to weighted seriousness. The dialogue is perceptive, giving voice to compelling characters and particularly to the tour guide whose second sight he confers on the readers. The latter will not want to look away from the myriad rooms of Weatherlee House.
 —US Review of Books


Read an excerpt...

I was surprised at the old woman’s humor—far better than mine. Ghosts are known for their moans and clatters but not for their jokes. She should be the tour guide, I thought, and I the haunted heiress.

We had walked miles from the sealed-off wing. Burrows branched like arteries meandering out from the beast’s dead heart. A blank wall twenty yards ahead would dog-leg toward another blank wall twenty yards ahead. I led, they followed—an odyssey within a hamster wheel. In my bones it was precisely 4:53 p.m. but each minute took years. My ghosts were aging fast.

The corridor bent, doubled back, made a squiggle of jogs, then opened to a hall that stretched like the endless trudge between airport terminals. When had this vast new suburb come into being? Had Weatherlee House consumed orchards, colonized neighbors, licked whole valleys with its thick coated tongue? Or might we be in those underground shadowlands where they store the great bombs for Last Judgment? I could hear the deep whine of missiles rising.

I saw a dim figure, an ambient smudge whom I seemed to be following. It was Chuck, a silhouette in a well-tailored suit. His gait was lumbering, tense, as if pretending calm while pursued by a bear. At intervals he passed through sharp light and I could see his rigid face. A lamp shone at the end of the passage. He paused, entered the room. I came forward with my breathless gaggle of goslings.

Click HERE to read an insightful interview of the authors.



AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Conrad Bishop & Elizabeth Fuller’s 60+ plays have been produced Off-Broadway, in regional theatres,  and in thousands of their own performances coast to coast. Their two public radio series Family Snapshots and Hitchhiking off the Map have been heard nationally. Their books include two previous novels (Realists and Galahad’s Fool), a memoir (Co-Creation: Fifty Years in the Making), and two anthologies of their plays (Rash Acts: 35 Snapshots for the Stage and Mythic Plays: from Inanna to Frankenstein.)

They host a weekly blog on writing, theatre, and life at www.DamnedFool.com. Their theatre work is chronicled at www.IndependentEye.org. Short videos of their theatre and puppetry work are at www.YouTube.com/indepeye. Bishop has a Stanford Ph.D., Fuller is a college drop-out, but somehow they see eye to eye. They have been working partners and bedmates for 57 years.





Elizabeth Fuller Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lizful