Monday, August 21, 2023

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 39



The Best New SF & Fantasy of the Year

L. Ron Hubbard; Kevin J. Anderson; S. M. Stirling; Lazarus Chernik; Kristine Kathryn Rusch; Samuel Parr; Spencer Sekulin; L. H. Davis; Devon Bohm; Arthur H. Manners; David Hankins; David K. Henrickson; J. R. Johnson; Elaine Midcoh; Marianne Xenos; Jason Palmatier; and T. J. Knight

Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, Time Travel, Space Opera, Adventure

Date Published: May 2023


photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png


In the world of speculative fiction…

Your favorite authors…

Have chosen the best new voices of the year

Check out these twelve captivating tales selected by Brandon Sanderson, Orson Scott Card, Nnedi Okorafor, Robert J. Sawyer, Kevin J. Anderson, Jody Lynn Nye and others.

Join a team of time travelers who set out to save London from a terrorist’s nuclear attack … when a blast from the past changes everything.

Meet a vampire, a dragon and a shape-shifting Chihuahua in Key West … this is one beach party that’s about to get wild!

Follow Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I., who’s investigating the craziest case of his so-called life.…

Find out what happens when death and taxes come together in the form of one IRS agent, who faces the darkest audit of all.

From dark fantasy to space opera and time travel, you will love these sci-fi and fantasy stories because, as Locus magazine puts it, “Not only is the writing is also extremely varied. Hot new talent.”

Get it now.


Read an Excerpt below...




Contact Links

Author Website

Author Twitter Handle


Other Social Media Links






Free Writing Workshop

Writing Podcast

Writers Forum


Purchase Links










a Rafflecopter giveaway 

RABT Book Tours & PR



B Y  J O D Y  LY N N  N Y E

You hold in your hand the results of a year’s worth of hard

work and impressive talent. The following twelve stories each

represent the vision of a new writer that stood out among the

thousands of entries submitted to the Writers of the Future

Contest to be recognized as the best of the best. Some of these

writers have sent in many stories over the years; for some, this is

their first attempt. All of them have excited my imagination, even

bringing me to exclaim out loud in delight. (“Venus? Really?”)

This is my first year as the Coordinating Judge of the Contest.

Only three other people have held this position since the Contest

launched in 1985. David Farland, K. D. Wentworth, and renowned

editor Algis Budrys, who with L. Ron Hubbard shepherded the

Contest into being, have helped to launch the careers of numerous

notable writers including Patrick Rothfuss, Nina Kiriki Hoffman,

Eric Flint, Nnedi Okorafor, and Dean Wesley Smith (now my

coeditor of this anthology). I have large and eminent shoes to fill,

and I hope you will appreciate my efforts.

So, how do you get to be a winner and have your story

published in one of these glamorous anthologies? You have

four quarters of the year to send in an original tale. We accept

speculative fiction: science fiction, fantasy, and dark fantasy

(light horror). Keep in mind that this is a professional market

with an audience that runs from young adult on upward. Within

those parameters, let your imagination run wild. The Contest

is judged blind. The quality of your work is what is important.

What am I looking for? First, I want a story. It has to have a

beginning, middle, and end that involves your fantasy or sf

element. If your narrative takes too long to get going or trails

off with no conclusion, I may never even see it, as the first reader

(and former Writers’ Contest winner) Kary English weeds out

manuscripts that don’t fulfill the basic guidelines for the Contest.

I like a story that never stops moving, that gives me a reason to

keep reading.

Second, send me something new. If I’ve seen the plot often

and you have nothing new to say about it, you’re not trying hard

enough. Speculative fiction means exploring the universe and

finding a corner of it that hasn’t been churned over by thousands

of other writers. Tickle my imagination. Surprise me. I welcome

a new take on science fiction or fantasy. Third, I want excellent

storytelling. Your style can set a fairly ordinary plot apart from

others like it by intelligent and evocative wordplay. Give me

great characters. Give me consequences for failing to reach the

goal those characters are striving toward. Small stories about one

moment in a character’s life can be as interesting and meaningful

as big stories in which the universe itself is at stake.

The eight Finalists every quarter go on to a selection of our

eminent judges to vote for first, second, and third place. The

rewards for becoming a winner of the Contest are spectacular.

The twelve writer winners are flown into Hollywood, California,

for a grand black-tie, red-carpet gala, given beautiful trophies

and cash prizes. Each of their stories is also handed off to the

winners of the Illustrators of the Future Contest to create a unique

piece of art to accompany it in the anthology. The anthologies

themselves often become national bestsellers, a terrific entry

on your bibliography. Afterward, the winners get to experience

their first book signing of the anthology containing their work.

The winners also enjoy a weeklong seminar taught by me and

fantasy writer/judge Tim Powers, with guest speeches from the

other Contest judges. It’s the biggest fuss anyone will ever make

in your career about a short story.

It’s more than worth it to enter, and I urge you to begin. I’m

starting my second year of reading Contest entries. Make one

of them yours

1 comment:

  1. Great excerpt! I love the sci-fi genre and I am looking forward to reading this collection of stories, thank you for posting about this book


Hateful and Unrelated Comments Will Be Deleted. Anonymous comments are invalid to enter into giveaways.

If you see any spam comments, please notify me. My email is on the "About Me" page. Thanks much.